Mark Whealan

0 7
Avatar for Mariya11
3 years ago

Lovely tribute from fellow Limerick poet Ger Shehy for the late Mark Whelan.

Gift

i.m. Mark Whelan

The first time that I saw him

he was dressed in the regalia

of a late twentieth century Bard;

fedora hat and denims

with a satchel over his shoulder

to carry written and wrestled-over words.

As he walked

a trail of tobacco smoke bellowed

while his mind forged ideas into verse

and too shy my whole life to tell him

a spark from that process ignited something in me.

The last time that I saw him

the fedora was a well-worn trademark

and the cloud of smoke that accompanied him

was rising in a spiral like a signal.

His steps were slower now

with his once fiery beard turned Druid grey.

After offering a greeting

all I managed to say was I hoped he was still writing,

and gentle man to the last, he smiled, nodded

then reassured me with, I am.

-2
$ 0.00

Comments