Turkeys

12 23
Avatar for Mariene.Avery
3 years ago

When went here to the province of my husband we were so amaze about the different animals they have. Their backyard is like a small farm. They have native chickens, pigs, ducks, goats and turkeys.

Since it's our first time to go there during that time, they prepared a special meal for us. They cooked some turkeys. Yes turkeys. I haven't eat turkey before, this will be my first time. And yes it taste delicious like chicken too.

I used to work in a BPO company before, and every last week of September, Americans celebrate Thanks Giving and their special dish for this very special kind of holiday is the turkey!

How did turkey become the centerpiece of this feast?

According to what traditionally is known as "The First Thanksgiving," the 1621 feast between the Pilgrims and the Wampanoag at Plymouth Colony contained waterfowl, venison, lobster, clams, fruits, pumpkin.William Bradford noted that, "besides waterfowl, there was great store of wild turkeys, of which they took many."

Domestic turkeys show a wide diversity of behaviors including 'comfort' behaviors such as wing-flapping, feather ruffling, leg stretching and dust-bathing. Turkeys are highly social and become very distressed when isolated. Adults can recognize 'strangers' and placing any alien turkey into an established group will almost certainly result in that individual being attacked, sometimes fatally.

Maturing males spend a considerable proportion of their time sexually displaying. This is very similar to that of the wild turkey and involves fanning the tail feathers, drooping the wings and erecting all body feathers.

6
$ 0.00
Avatar for Mariene.Avery
3 years ago

Comments

I am a food lover, so I would like to add that Turkey is very delicious... it tastes simply like beef.. I love eating turkey...😇😇

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes it is very delicious and nutritious too. But I think this is not so common here in our place. What we usually eat is chicken.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah it varies according to people's taste and choice...🙂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah right. Actually some people says that chicken is tastier than turkey. But for me they are just the same. How about you my friend, what do you prefer to eat, chicken or turkey?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I said earlier I'm a food lover... I love both..😍😍 What about u??

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like them both but I will choose chicken as it is easier to cook compared to turkey's meat.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah that's true... turkey is a bit harder than chicken when to eat...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

On September 18, it's my daughter's birthday so we are planning to cook again some turkeys and native chicken too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh wow.. wish her a great happy birthday on my behalf.. I really hope u enjoy eating them...😅😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol! for sure everyone will be happy and full. Thanks for the advance greeting my friend. and good luck to the turkeys hahahah

$ 0.00
3 years ago