Poverty: Not an Excuse

9 18
Avatar for MariaGracias
3 years ago

Olah! I'm Grace, 23, from the Philippines. I am an online teacher and currently handling Japanese students. I love teaching since I want to help students improve their skills.

I'm proud to have eight siblings. My parents are very productive. Me and my oldest brother are working hard to help our parents because both of my parents don't have a proper job. We experience difficult situations like having nothing to eat or getting sick with less medical care.

Our poverty is the reason why I strive to finish my university degree. I got a government scholarship and I worked in my neighbor's house to for my allowance. It was really challenging to work and study at the same time. There were times I wanted to give up but I didn't. I always think that I am the only hope of my family. Fortunately, I was able to graduate from my university.

Now, I am working really hard to provide my family's needs. If you are not from the Philippines maybe you'll wonder why do we need to help our family that much. For the reason that this is already part of our culture. We always have the feeling of responsibility of giving back to our parents. Helping them before having my own family is a must in my country. It is like an obligation that no one is asking you to do it but you know yourself that you must do it.

So, I encourage everyone to be strong and independent. Always believe in the power of your dreams. Never lose hope. Be kind. Be brave. Be you. Take care.

7
$ 0.00

Comments

Nice Article dear. Go ahead😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi dear. First of all welcome to read.cash. Working students are common with us too. There are no scholarships which mean the only other option is a loan if you can not afford to pay the annual high fee. Studying with us is not for everyone but the rich only or those who do not care to pay off their debts for the next 35 years or longer. Positive is many employers with hand rafts are asked and the income is rising, getting higher. Academics have hardly working experience which makes it hard to find a job. Times clearly changed.

I hope your siblings will give you a hand too by supporting the family. To be honest I find it a hard task. I wish you strength and a good future. πŸ€πŸ‘πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi Wakeupkitty. Thank you for wishing me strength and good future. I'm sending my brothers to school and hoping they can help me in the future.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome to read.cash. I wish you happy stay with read.cash. It is good to help the family.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi Olad. Thank you for welcoming me in this community. Keep safe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago