The House of a Thousand Keys

4 30
Avatar for MarSou
Written by
2 years ago

All right, all right, I'll stop a while , stop banging inside my head - these 🤬 words won't let me go until I put them out in the wild 😤

Here goes:

We are cleaning my uncle's house.

They passed away, uncle died due to Alzheimer complications 4 years ago and aunt died only 1 month ago, suffered a pulmonary embolism. Rest their souls, both of them.

The house belongs to me now. Not a big favor, more like a payment for 20 years taking care of them, had to quit my job 7 years ago, when aunt was diagnosed with breast cancer and uncle started the first signs of Dementia.

It wasn't always easy, but life has a way to teach us the lessons we need...

The point is...now it's time to clean the house, aunt was a very stubborn, difficult woman, that kept the house closed for years, no air, no sun went inside.

We found a poor scenery inside, almost everything is rotten and eaten by the woodworm. What was supposed to be white it's back, the black is white, mold growing everywhere, we had to wear masks all the time to prevent mold spores to come inside our lungs.

Almost everything is beyond repair...

But one thing we found in every drawer, every cabinet, every trunk, every big or small box:

Keys

We have found dozens of keys. Big "Castle Old Like", old car keys, tiny keys, rusty keys...keys, keys, keys

At first we just put them in the same place, maybe it would be important.

Than we began to laugh, each one screaming "I found Another"

After a few hours we looked and it was A LOT OF KEYS!!!!

No logic in most of them, whatever they used to open, it's long gone, the "real" keys to the house are with us, modern keys for modern lockers

What was this obsession??

In the end of a hard working weekend, I look at the amount of keys and I think about all the stories they could tell us. With so many trunks and bags here, uncle's spent years emigrating in Germany, how many of those trunks and bags - with its own key - went back and forward with them, dream and goals to achieve.

And those big old keys, I LOVE them!!! Did they belong to their ancestors houses?? I mean, I'm almost 50 y old, never saw anyone using those big keys in "real life"

The thing is...it's impossible for me to throw this keys "away". There's some kind of Magic in it, although I can't explain.

There is a pattern here. And if there's a pattern, there is a Lesson.

What lesson are all this keys trying to teach you, Marisa???🤔

So I will keep them all. Add them to my already big collection...

The House of a Thousand Keys is now mine

In a few years, not that many cause time is ticking, someone will go through my "spoils". And probably wonder: Why the Hell??? Where did all this Keys come from?? What is the Logic???"

No logic at all...Just someone that also couldn't throw all the keys away

...

6
$ 0.00
Avatar for MarSou
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Keys, keys everywhere... so many of them and so it must be highly symbolic. Open all those gates, you have all the keys now Marisa 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, when I read the title in my notification, I said to myself that I have seen the series. I thought you were talking about the Keyhouse of Locke and Key series in Netflix. So I read your article to see what's your take on it but it looks like your talking about a different Keyhouse. Hahaha... Talking about Keyhouse in real life. Keep those keys, who knows they might worth a million in the future. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I loved the series! Might watch it again some time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My daughter also collects keys, I have no idea why.

$ 0.00
2 years ago