The Butterfly that Saved my Life

6 34
Avatar for MarSou
Written by
2 years ago

What?? The other way around, you say??! Most definitely not!!

Let me tell you..

Living so close to the Atlantic Ocean, it's Home to us, even though we were in partial lockdown. For me it meant nothing, I usually go far from the crowds, grab my kids and my mom and enjoy the wild beaches.

For me, beach means low tide, so we can be in the water and enjoy the gentle sea shore. Last year in June we were walking in the shallow water, feeling the gentle tiny waves... and we found a butterfly, drenched in salt water.

At first sight we all thought it was dead, I took her from the sand only to give her a proper "funeral"

But her tiny anthem started moving!!! She was clinging to dear life, although unable to move. Very gently we all started to clean some of the wet sand from her precious wings, so fragile and Beautiful

I confess, I never thought she would make it. But as the minutes passed, she regained movement of her wings and could separate them, because they were "glued" due to the salty water.

At that time we had to make a decision, we couldn't stay in the middle of no where, we didn't know for how long. There was a gentle brise, but enough to make the butterfly fall from my hands, on the other side I was afraid to close my hands too hard and hurt her.

So we arranged mom's hat as transportation and protection. But she kept trying to climb out. Finally I gave up, she was much better and seemed to enjoy riding in my foreharm

The afternoon passed in a instant, we were all amazed with our new friend. Before heading home I took her to the green plants by the dunes and stood there, watching her stretch and try her wings, untill she finally flew, took a few loops around my head and went away

This enconter made that day Magic.

But most of all Changed my Life.

When I picked that lil soaked being from the shallow water, I did it for selfish reasons only. I just wanted to take a photo of a beautiful butterfly. But she showed me how strong and resilient she could be. She grabbed the chance I gave her when I took her in my hand and clinged to dear life. Against all odds, she survived and even flew again.

Despite all the natural fear, she felt safe and secure in my harm. And she flew around me before leaving for good, as if saying thank you

After this incident, my life was never the same. Many other Butterflies and bees keep crossing my path, several times I had the pleasure to touch their beautiful soft wings again.

She changed me. Prove to me that size isn't important and Warriors come in all shapes.

That day I saved her and she saved Me

Sponsors of MarSou
empty
empty
empty

7
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @CoquiCoin
Avatar for MarSou
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

It is a very beautiful and moving story. Many times, there are little things that can go unnoticed. But instead, they become great lessons for our lives. I loved reading this ♡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you!!! I notice the tiny, probably cause I'm tiny too 😂🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! What a beautiful story MarSou. One I needed to read not any other day, but today. Thank you for sharing it with us and how wonderful are these pictures 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you!!! I think I am writting mostly for myself, cz I love to write but i realize my English is kinda limited for a big article, but this is a story i love to tell 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is nothing wrong with your English dear. I hear it takes a while to be noticed by the robot though. I barely have any comments on my posts either. Let us be snails... little steps forward 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Robot??? Only robot I need is my vacuum cleaner 😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago