My Loquat Tree Mourning

8 46
Avatar for MarSou
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Writting

Yes, it's just another loquat tree, there's so many in the neighborhood.

But this one was special...to me

Delicious fruits she gave us, I dont remember this backyard without this tree, among many others

Strong and talk, we had to use a ladder to get up there, usually one of the kids would climb to the higher/weakest branches, part of the adventure, maybe that's why the fruits tasted so good

Always with the attentive eyes of my aunt, she's always afraid to be left with no fruits, although she never eat any, just that bad temper of hers

4 year ago, when my uncle was a child again, Alzheimer stealing all his pride and dignity, I would put a chair for him under the loquat tree, the shadow protecting him from the hot Sun, and we'd spend the afternoon there, peeling loquats, one for him, one for me

So many times I had to fool him, pretending to eat mine just to give him more, he was such a bad eater back then, I had to do with him the things i never did with my 4 sons:

"Just one more uncle, look at that little birdie, if you don't eat it, i will give it to him"

He would smile, that Perfect Childish Smile, like his soul had left already, only his kindness remained.

Now the Loquat Tree is gone too, the big tall tree dried out just like my uncle, I did all I could - for both - but i guess they wanted to rest

In her place, there's a tiny loquat tree sprouting. I look at her everytime I pass here, the hope for new memories that will never be forgotten.

14
$ 0.03
$ 0.01 from @Judith1969
$ 0.01 from @aj_u2
$ 0.01 from @cmoneyspinner
Avatar for MarSou
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Writting

Comments

So beautiful my dear. I loved reading this and I’m very happy that you found time for sharing this with us. I’ve never eaten loquat 🤷🏻‍♀️ I’d like to try one day 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi MarSou,

It a little sad story, but it ended happily. I admire how you treated your uncle nicely. Rest in peace. Plus, it is nice to see that a new loquat tree is growing. I love loquat fruits as well. I used to climb up a loquat tree to get some fruits when I was a kid. What a nice memory with the loquat tree. Thank you for sharing the story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a loving tribute to your uncle. This story touches my heart. Thanks for sharing it with us. Loving you, my warrior soul sister.
Vicki

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Vicki!!!! Is that you???!!!! Yaaayyy !!! Thank you!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it's me!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here we are, I’m still figuring this out, ha ha, but I’m here, and I can’t wait to really dig into things...

Wonderful article by the way, thank you for taking us along for this journey, I’m sure the next chapter will build many memories as well...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beautiful writing MarSou! It is wonderful that you had that special time with your Uncle ... probably the happiest days of his life! =D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhh thank you, my first comment on my first article yyaaayyyyy

$ 0.00
2 years ago