My Journey to became a Zero - Trashing the Trash Can

13 45
Avatar for MarSou
Written by
2 years ago

One of the first things I did when I started my Zero Journey was a compound place

There I would put all the organic leftovers from my house. But it was so disappointing because in a few weeks I ended up with a pile of smelly "poop"

And I mean... very very smelly ðŸĪŪ

But I had a Dream...And I am Stubborn

So I did some research and it was Funny and very helpful to know that what I did was what most people do...All wrong

So... Fresh start...

Finding the right balance is the key:

Not too dry

Not too wet

The perfect ratio of kitchen scraps + soil + Manure...

At the time I had no Manure... who would had thought that I would ever be looking for "Manure" 😂

Not having that resource at that time I solved it by adding some organic cider vinegar to the pile. I leave you that Tip, although I never read about it anywhere else, but IT WORKED.

In a few days piling scraps, soil, leafs and cider vinegar, I got a really "good looking" pile of "Black Gold"

I know now, many years after, that all the tips and "secrets" I read, the videos I took the time to see, they all fail to mention: TAKES TIME

You can speed the process by turning the pile on a constant basis, add fancy products, but even when it "looks" right and "smells" right - that means it doesn't stink - you have to wait at least another 6 months to use it in the Garden

So...If you are thinking about "trashing your trash Can" I can tell you, its totally worth it.

Now, after a few years, I dont even think about it, I just add the scraps and the soil and walk away, Nature does everything else.

Plus, I now have the last Golden Ingredient... Since my husband made his "Dream Hennery"

YAAYYY, now I am the maid, the cleaner, the cooker and I run away when my dear Carnivorous Family wants to eat ðŸ˜Ŧ

Being the only Vegan in the Family...the Village...all around my real life...isn't easy 😒

Another amazing "Compound Pile Effect":

Everything grows around it!!

The seeds piled up from the scraps encounter there the perfect land and moisture to germinate when the time is right.

Although I LOVE keeping seeds to use next season, most times we just have to wait patiently for the "Pile Presents"

The place we used to call Compound Pile is presently called "The Jungle". There we have pumpkins, strawberries, onions, parsley, lettuce, tomatoes, leak... all "SelfSeeded", much more strong and healthier plants than the ones we sow all tidy with dropping water

This might not be the Crown Jewel of "Off the Grid" life, but it was 1 more step.

Sponsors of MarSou
empty
empty
empty

Read more about my Journey to Became a Zero : https://read.cash/@MarSou/my-journey-to-become-a-zero-45e79de0

11
$ 1.26
$ 1.10 from @BSzandra
$ 0.10 from @Panky
$ 0.05 from @fantagira
+ 1
Avatar for MarSou
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Invite me to your garden, soulful momma!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Any time WarriorMom âĪïļâĪïļ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Xoxoxoxox

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now I'm thinking if I can move again in province..the prob is, what if I don't have wifi 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But you are good there, with your family!!!!ðŸĨ°ðŸĨ°ðŸĨ°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I need to look into how to do this in a small back yard. I dont want to draw flies or have the smell so for right now I just have a pile of leaves and what I rake up, furthest away from the windows and doors but havent started adding table scraps or manure. The vinegar is a great tip and thank you! I really have to find a way to make soil. I want that rich dark gold like youve described, and look at the plants. They love it!! Ive seen the small ones you can buy that is like a round barrel you crank to turn... They are just so pricey.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love everything about this article Marisa! I heard that making a compost bin or a compound pile like you say it is not an easy task to achieve the balance. I will be happy for all the tips once I start my own on my allotment.

I absolutely love the natures gifts that grow around your pile. I emptied some smelly composted soil inherited from the previous owner and where I emptied it, stinging nettles started to grow. I can cut them all I want, but they always come back, so this year I cut them into a bucket and added water and I will have an organic fertiliser ðŸĨ°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, but you must look at neetles differently!!!! It's Food!!! Good, healthy delicious food.. and if you change your mindset you'll see you can't ever have enough neettles 😂😂😂 next time I'll do an article on healthy free wild flowers/food.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Please do! I sometimes make myself a nettle tea, but that's all I know how to do. I know they're nutritious, just don't know how to use them. Make it a looong article with a lot of details for newbies 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's difficult for me to do loooonng because i eat simple, just grab a few leafs and eat or add to salad...at the most i so it saltee....but i will try 🙈ðŸĪŠ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I say make it long, because I'm greedy for the details. For example what do you do to avoid stinging your tongue if you eat them fresh. I guess there will be no recipes if you like it simple.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really doesn't sting in the mouth at all 😂😂 I will have to sit down again in my computer ðŸ˜Ī The things you make me do 😂😂âĪïļâĪïļ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You love it! Who else would make you do it? And you have lots of knowledge, so you need to share it 😁💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago