Helping hand

1 7
Avatar for Manik0
Written by
3 years ago

An unprecedented, incredible event happened today.

What if you are a post graduate at Harvard, but you hired a private tutor with a salary to improve your skills in a subject, such a student doing bachelor in Bangladesh?

One of the sponsors of the Foundation's monthly scholarship for our people has been doing this for weeks without letting me know. This morning, the sponsor inboxed me saying, 'I have an update, if you don't mind, Grandpa, I want to share it. It took me a while to understand the matter!

That American expatriate sponsor told me,

I needed to know the statistics to do well in a Masters course, I could do that course in New York for ড 25 per hour. But I wanted if any student of this foundation could explain to me, I would pay him as a tutor, more than the rate in Bangladesh. I contacted Shakil Anower, a volunteer at the Dhaka University of the Foundation, and got a student from DU who is currently studying the subject! The hard work of that girl student, the hard work of running the family, the whole family is unemployed, the scholarship of the foundation is the only resource now. In this situation, the family became quite lonely. I'm not late, Grandpa. Even though you are giving scholarship, with your permission I want to pay him as my tutor. I am learning this course so well from him that it cannot be expressed in words, grandfather. He doesn't have a laptop, he just trusts the phone. But I am surprised to see his teaching method. Explaining everything, having a lot of fun. Without the permission of that tutor, I am sharing some instructional material and videos where there is no personal information. Me: Very convinced grandfather! Please allow me. I can save a lot of money, the tutor's family will repay some loan .... "

I was in a daze reading all this!

I asked, you lost your job during the epidemic. So how are you managing this now?

His answer - Grandpa, don't worry about that. I am paying the semester fee with some deposit. My husband is working. I will take a loan for next semester. But I'm better than that girl. They are challenged every second of the day and night!

- I was speechless when I heard such words! So how much will you pay the tutor?

- Grandpa, I'm thinking of paying 1000 rupees per hour. I do classes 4-5 hours a week. As such, about 20 hours a month ...

- Wow! In that case, 20,000 rupees a month for these few hours of class. This tutor is one of the resources of the country! Going down as a tutor is making a bet!

- Grandpa, in fact, his qualifications are big! Do you know how many benefits I will have in the future because of this course? Grandpa, I'm surprised that a girl from a rural area of ​​Bangladesh got a chance at DU and is now qualified to teach a post graduate at Harvard, it's like a superpower. I am grateful to this foundation. If it weren't for that, I wouldn't know. And yes, he can write this tutoring experience in his CV.

- Thanks to Shakil, he has done a great job. Isn't it?

- Grandpa, Shakil is another super hero! I was amazed at his work. Grandpa, another thing, I just want to give that tutor a laptop. But he will not take! Do that. If that happens, his skills will increase. With great difficulty I have agreed to give a calculator as a gift!

The story would have ended here. But no! This sponsor gave me one surprise after another, and did something unknowingly! Let me say a few words.

He got married probably in 2016. Introduced to me online in 2016, about sponsoring a student. Everything is going well. Suddenly one day I was informed in the inbox that my husband had also agreed to sponsor a student. I wanted it instead of her gift on our first wedding anniversary. He agreed. Can you give grandpa

- What does this girl say again! First wedding anniversary, how many dreams will not be with the gift! Whether he is claiming to arrange a light show to a student! You are a great man!

About a year later, during Eid, he told me, "Grandpa, you are sending Eid gifts to the students from now on." I sent my sponsored student last year without letting you know. This time I fell into confusion!

- You didn't do it right. The Foundation does not have rules for personal contact with students. You will not send gifts. (I understood with great difficulty by showing many facts)

More about a year later. He is visiting Bangladesh, I don't know. Arrived in Dhaka the day before the flight, at which time he informed me in the inbox that my grandfather had a laptop. I wanted to give to my sponsored student. He will now leave for Dhaka. Didn't tell you, didn't have time. I think the girl is needed. Do you have an opinion? It feels bad to do something without telling you!

- No, I have no opinion at all. You have no more rights over any of our students than we do. This laptop is much needed for our volunteer work. We didn't even give a laptop to our volunteers.

5
$ 0.00
Avatar for Manik0
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

hi manik kemon achen....amar lekha dekhar amontron roilo

$ 0.00
3 years ago