What's Your Name?

10 24
Avatar for MaeAntoinette
1 year ago
August 30, 2022 Tuesday

Our names are given by our parents with story, meaning and reasons how it came up.

Did you know why you are name that way? Wayback in my primary education, every start of the schoolyear we introduce ourselves in class. Then the teacher will have some follow up question as to why I am named Mae? Only Mae no second name at all? I smiled and bow down my head. You know why? Because I never knew what to say. I grew up without knowing who named and why its just a 3-letter name. So what I did when I go home is ask my parents and told them the story in school.

My name is only M-A-E but I wasn't born in May, it's June. Perhaps if I was born in May then nobody will ask how I was named. So I really ask my parents. I remember my father was joking that his ex's name is Mae so when I came out he remember that name. Hahaha, really? I am sure if my mother will know then my name will be change. Anyways, he told me that when I was born on the 13th of June, it's the Feast of Saint Anthony. He was thinking of naming me, Antonia but it sounds oldies and he thought that I might scold him for naming me Antonia when I grow up. Thus they came to name me, Mae Antoinette and my nickname was Mae-Ann. I can remember that I grew up with my family and relatives calling me Mae-Ann. However, when they got my birth certificate copy, it was only Mae was registered and no second name.

Since it costs much before to change the registered name, my parents had no choice. Though the burden is in me. Whenever I was ask about my name, they thought I was born in May so I told them no and they will keep asking why. And I will keep telling each one who will ask about them and explain more. See? It's just my name but it seems I am writing an essay just to explain to everyone in class why I only got three letters name.

I was fine though with my short name but they laughed when they saw my childrens name. Well, it is quite long and there are a lot to talk about their names. Perhaps I can make another article out of it? Hmmm, no, not now. I still have to think about that.

Anyways, what is the story behind your name? Can you share it with me? Or do comment it here.

📷 Images are edited using Text on Photo

Thank you for reading this far. I just finished it now since I sleep last night during my breaktime because my head hurts. Anyway, I am fine and glad to wrapped this up.

4
$ 0.68
$ 0.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
Sponsors of MaeAntoinette
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MaeAntoinette
1 year ago

Comments

interesting . you got me thinking and i need to ask my parents some questions about my name

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You should ask because you might discover some facts you haven't known.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

it certainly is. summer inspired me Thank you dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya pala sis. Bakit Mae lang na register sis. May mali din sino man andun ang naka assign pero ang cute ng name mo sis kasi Mae lang. Unique talaga siya. Yung akin naman combination ng name ng mama't papa ko sis.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oo dami ring mga combination galing sa name ng parents o grandparents.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis dami. Isa na ako dun sis. Especially mga panganay sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung sa akin naman sis is dapat sa ate ko yung pangalan ko pero di alam ang spelling ng pa register kay ate😅

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ayy..yun ang masaklap sis.. akala ko nga baka hindi nasama ang antoinette ko kasi nahirapan ang nagtype kung tama ba ang spelling.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't think there is a story but the meaning of my name is God add more Joy. I love my name as it is six letter words “Busayo”.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, some parents find those names and look for the meaning before giving the baby such beautiful name.

$ 0.00
1 year ago