My Baptismal Day

3 20
August 28, 2022 Sunday

Baptism is a form of ritual purification -- a characteristic of many religions throughout time and geography. In Christianity, it is a Christian sacrament of admission and adoption, almost invariably with the use of water.

-Wikipedia

Do you know when did you get baptized? Or shall I say, do you celebrate your baptismal day?

It's been four decades ago that I got baptized. I always remember it because it is the City Fiesta in my hometown. I am from the City of Golden Friendship, Cagayan de Oro City. Today is a Feast Day in the City. They celebrate the Kagay-anon Festival every 28th of August and also the same date when I was baptized.

Aside from my birthday, I want to celebrate my baptismal day too. Not really an extravagant celebration but just a simple meal with the family remembering it. Because I can still remember where the church is and I always pay for a visit there everytime I went home. Though it's been quite already that I haven't travel back to my hometown. Aside from the pandemic, the tickets by air or by sea is already very expensive, making us more difficult to save for our travel there.

Today at lunch I ask my children if what do we celebrate. My eldest speak out and of course she mentioned about the feast in my hometown and also another in a nearby municipality here with the patron saint, Saint Augustine. Though hubby interrupt and said that it is only my baptismal day. So they really ask me to verify if it is true and I said yes. Then my daughter speak again and said, I do remember my baptismal date and also for my two brothers. She all mentioned the date and I was shocked. She then ask hubby if when was his baptismal day so she will know too.

I was quite impressed with my daughter's date memory. I mean, I am glad had no problem memorizing those dates because at least we won't be having hard time filling in some information at school or wherever it is necessary. Because teens nowadays tends to have more screen time and just enjoy being young. However, my daughter have balance being a teen and being responsible sister too to his brothers. That is why, I told her, okay next time let us celebrate your baptismal day too since it is just a few days from my birthdate. Then I saw how happy she is. Perhaps we will list down all our baptismal day in the calendar then so we wont be asking and asking when. Just like putting some reminders in our calendar for birthdays of our family and close relatives.

So, how about you there? Are you celebrating your baptismal day too? Let me know in the comment section and share your story too.

📷 All images from Unsplash

Thank you again for reading this far. Do let me know your thoughts too in the comment section.

2
$ 0.96
$ 0.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of MaeAntoinette
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Ako sis nalaman ko lang yung kailan ako na baptized nung last month kasi nag process kami ng mga papers ng wedding namin at nalaman ko dun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga sis gaya ng mga kakilala ko. Kung kelan sila nagprocess para sa wedding saka pa nila nalaman baptismal date nila.hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis ganyan ako. 😁 Dun ko pa talaga nalaman sis sa tinagal tagal.

$ 0.00
1 year ago