Are You A Good Employee?

8 26
Avatar for MaeAntoinette
1 year ago

September 17, 2022 Saturday 2319H

I am working tonight and have a bit of a responsibility to supervise some of the employees in our production tonight.

Well, for so long, the employees in our production day and night have been employed for many years. I am not handling them but at times I was also assigned to supervise them in the absence of their superior and other designated persons.

I have been here also in this company for 20years and counting. Well, quite long already, right? But am I a good or bad employee? I came to write about this matter because some of the employees tonight have certain behaviors at work that needs to be taken care of. Having these employees for many years, makes us know how they are at work and their alibis and excuses at times too.

Time is very important.

Me, long before have tardiness too. When I was young, I thought being late sometime is fine as long as I still have some salary at the end of the day. Also when I have children and have problems, my tardiness seems to become a problem. But that mindset was changed after some heart to heart talk and counseling. Now I really tried so hard to manage my working time from home to work.

Anyway, tonight an employee never have a record online that she swipes IN. But she is present in our operation after 12minutes late from coming in. She reason out that her ID was left at home. I interrogate her and she seems to have make up her story. I just listen to her and inform her superior through a phone call. Her colleagues are suspicious and did not believe her story. Because she is always coming late and of course we have disciplinary actions to habitual tardiness. Though this time she had her story and sadly I found out that she fooled us.

It was our first break around 8:50 in the evening. That employee went outside to have her break. I also do because I want to have dinner in our canteen. When I went into the locker, I never saw her there but when I arrive at the canteen she was there. She just finished buying her food and she was holding her food tray with foods while her ID was hang in front of her. Opps! Really? Her ID is just with her, oh I was shy for her story. Of course we use cashless payment in the canteen through our ID barcode and she cannot deny it.

As much as I want to confront her, I just leave her with her conscience. Many of her colleagues feel sorry because they are working too hard on time while she is just relax to come in late and lie. Her boyfriend is an engineer and has the same working behavior like her.

Though are we good as an employee? How can we be a good employee then? I know I am not the best employee because I do have some mistakes too before. I work and learn everything the hard way. Way way back, my mentor are tough. They just leave me trying to learn on my own because they were treated the same way too when they are a newbie. But that doesn't stop me from learning. I really ask and take down notes. I do try how it will be done in actual thus making me have those knowledge in machine programming and conversion in our operations.

Perhaps it is not really by being a good employee but by loving your work. If you love your work, you value your time in coming in and going home on the right time. You need to have more patience in everything, adjust on the people you work with and the new environment of your workplace. It is not just minding your own just to get the salary every month. It is taking care of your job to be a better employee you will become.

How about you? Are you a good employee, you think so? Feel free to let me know your thoughts then.

📷All images from Unsplash

Thank you so much for reading this far. It was actually drafted last night at work but just finished it now at home.

3
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @grey23espartinas
Sponsors of MaeAntoinette
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MaeAntoinette
1 year ago

Comments

Ako sis ayaw ko malate kasi deduct sa salary namin tas ayaw ko mapagalitan ng boss ko tas maaga talaga ako dahil maraming dapat na tapusin sa work.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oo nga sis.. sa amin din deduct per minute kaya ang deduction sa amin nga. Pero ewan ko ba sa iba parang nasa school lang. Walang paki sa oras.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis tama yung iba hindi nila minamind. Sa akin mahalaga talaga time pag oras ng work.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I used to work in the office too and based on my superiors feedback ,i am a good one coz i'm a little bit OC and i want everything done in time aside from the fact that i do love my job and the company i worked with. I value the salary they are giving me by doing my job properly and mostly beyond their expectations. Sometimes excuses can save some employees but not all the time. Eventually if it's their nature to lie and often do excuses then it will show in their works. Unfinish works, can't meet the deadlines , low output etc etc and soon they will get what they deserve. A suspension or termination the most.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes at times we lie just to be save but when everybody knows your story why still pushes it. Anyways, its her choice, i just hope she will be better before she will realize that what she is doing might end to lost her job.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dishonesty yan ah. Smen ground for termination n yan. Kung tao ko yan binabaan ko n ng violation report yan. Abuso n

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oo nga violation talaga kaso medyo may kapit din kasi bf niya engineer saka friend ng visor kaya ganun na lang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yun lng kaya mmam pla abusado

$ 0.00
1 year ago