Childhood Happiness Stolen By Strict Parenting (Based On True Story)

0 11
Avatar for Madlee
Written by
2 years ago

CHILDHOOD!! That's a topic that gives joy to an adult who has passed the age. Some get filled up with joy just by remembering how good, great their childhood was. Others wish they could turn back the heads of time, just to have a glimpse repeat of their childhood life.

This will tell you that in most cases people enjoyed their lives more at that stage of life as compared to adulthood. But such happiness that every adulthood tends to have on the childhood topic, such excitement, such joy, such amazement NONE of such is the case with me. SURPRISED? I know, but life experiences during my childhood didn't turn out to be what they should have been.

My story goes like this, I grew up with my mother, had 1 sibling who was older than me. My father died in the early years of my earth days meaning I didn't get to see him as I was still a months-old baby. Growing up now, we relocated to the main city where my mother bought a house and at that stage, I was in primary school. My brother was 3years older than me. We owned a house, life was great, I can't say we were rich nor poor. maybe middle life is the best word to describe our life growing up.

Now in this line of living, my mother was the very strictest person ever. She was the kind of person that I would say she didn't tolerate any nonsense or any mistakes..Hahahahah yes MISTAKES, there was no such in her vocabulary of life. I was a child who had two personalities which are being talkative and being quiet. Each personality depended on who around me, and I didn't choose what personality would come out at that moment.

I remember used to get beaten for being a child, which is going to play. My mother showed me the monster side of her rather than the mother-loving side of her. It got to an extent where I was terrified of her as a mother to an extent where the quiet personality got much of me that the people in a community used to always adore me saying I don't misbehave and I'm quiet, unlike other naughty kids. My mother used to be happy when she hears it, but little did she know what damage she had caused to her child's mentality.

Honestly, I remember, when she wants to go to town and want me to come along I would refuse and just act like I want to stay at home. The reason for all this was because I used to be soooo happy in her absents than in her presence. I used to be soo happy that the other talkative personality of me would come out especially when I'm with my friends. One day she came home and was shocked that I talk that much.

If I can state the times I used to be happy, was when my mother was at work, when there were visitors at home, especially when my granddad would visit and stay for a couple of days. What made me actually say my childhood happiness was stolen, was the fact that during that period of life I always wish I was an adult so I can start working and move out and be alone. Which take note, is what happened when I was working I moved out and up to now I visit her once in a while not because I hate her NO! But because there is no bond, no amount of motherly love that was built in me that would make me say I miss my mother. My heart became hard towards her, I do love her but not unconditionally which is how it should be.

Putting to a conclusion, the day I call the day of the awakening was when my grandad realized that I'm happy when my mother is not around, and I shrink when my mother is present. My grandad confronted this to my mother and it broke her heart because she didn't know. She thought she was being a STRICT parent but didn't mean any harm. From therefore, life changed a little but it was too late I can only say I enjoyed an inch of my childhood, the rest was filled with misery.....The end

I WROTE THIS WITH THE HOPE THAT IT WILL BE SHARED AND IT WILL REACH AS MANY PEOPLE AND HELP AS MANY PARENTS WHEN IT COMES TO PARENTING A CHILD. MY GRANDDAD AWAKEN MY MOTHER, I HOPE THIS AWAKEN YOU AS A PARENT

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Madlee
Written by
2 years ago

Comments