Meet Ronald: The Future Past

8 57
Avatar for Macronald
3 years ago
Topics: Experiences

I have been a read.cash user for more than 9 months. Wow! See how far I have come.

Right from the days of point system - when points are awarded for user activities like posting, comment and other users' engagement on your post and the points earned at the end of the day is converted to BCH based on the days point price value, to the current day of receiving tips from TheRandomRewarder. There were so many other events; the good, the bad, and the ugly, in between.

During my first month on this platform, I published my introductory posts, where I introduced myself to the community. But I just realized most of my friends and subscribers from then are no longer active. I now have new readers and subscribers who most likely didn't get to read any of my first few rusty posts. Believe me, I have gotten a lot better at writing than I was 9 months ago.

This is a repeat for my new friends:

I don’t do well in front of crowds. In fact, I often don’t do well in a gathering especially if there are one or two members of the gathering with whom I am not overly familiar. So having you here, in a medium that tends to work much more successfully for a person of my particular nature, I’m going to let you in on a secret: I'm an introvert. And this is me.

My name is Ronald, and I am a Nigerian. The first of four siblings and a guy in his late 20s. I’m an introvert, there’s no question about it. I’m shy, I like being alone and I’m good at it, and I avoid confrontation at all costs. I am also a good listener and an observer which had been helpful in my everyday life.

Being an introvert in an extrovert world is not so easy. I’ve always been this way, and I’m fine with it, but I do understand that sometimes it can be frustrating to the people in my life. To be honest, I have been mocked as "boring" by some friends especially those who love to have fun and party. As most of those moments, I prefer to fly solo and stay at home. I just can't help it. But in recent days, I have to force myself into engaging more with people and my work has contributed a lot to that.

Likes. There are many things I like to do, to see, and to experience. I like to think, I like to dream, I like to listen. I like to see the sunrise in the morning, I like to see the moonlight at night; I like to look at the clouds in the sky with a blank mind, I like to sleep late, I like to get up late. I like to be alone, I like the silent night. I like delicious food and good movies. I like watching Arsenal play, especially on winning days. I like nature, I like dogs. I like read.cash, I like bitcoin cash (BCH). And, I like me.

Hobbies. Needless to say, I don’t really go out much, and I’m completely fine with that. I don’t take part in outdoor sports and I stick with people I like and get along with. I'm a football fan, so I love watching my favorite team; Arsenal, play. I also watch other teams especially when there is great rivalry between the teams. Besides indoor games, I like to watch movies and listen to music. They inspire me.

Communication. During my school days, I hated being asked questions. I seldom contribute in classes. I do my best to avoid presentations. I hate public speaking, and I avoid it. I like to keep to myself. I never call people, unless I have to. I prefer to send messages. I procrastinate as long as I can when I need to make a call. I can easily go a few weeks without talking on the phone unless someone calls. I also don’t like asking for something, verbally. My Friday nights are spent on my bed with my phone in hand, chatting, watching movies, or reading news updates. This is me.

Emotions. I'm highly sensitive but not comfortable with crying in front of anyone. But I did cry during my late father's burial, I couldn't help the tears. I hate fighting with people not only because the priest said fighting is not good, but because that is the only thing that really just makes me cry, especially when I attempt to explain what happened. Also, whenever someone tells me something that requires a big reaction, I always fail woefully. A person could be pouring out their soul to me, and I would just sit there with a blank expression, I fail to display the amount of compassion, sorrow, happiness, love, disgust, whatever it is that I’m feeling at that moment. I do feel all of those things, I just don’t know how to show it. Sometimes I think of situations and things I would like to tell someone, and I can see myself being open, but when an opportunity presents itself I close up. I can be exhausting, but this is me.

Friendships. As mentioned earlier, I'm a shy guy and an introvert so I mostly like to spend my free time indoors. I have a small friend circle, no thanks to my inability at making new friends. I find it hard to approach new people without a good reason. Unless the people I meet have the kind of personality that I immediately identify with it can be awkward and weird to hang out with them at first. As nice as some people are, it takes time for me to form a bond strong enough to really be at ease with them. That's just being me. There are moments I'd wished I'm outgoing and I have even tried to improve on my socializing but haven't had much success. Though I have gotten a little better at it in recent days, but far from the outgoing persona.

Dreams. I have lots of dreams yet to be fulfilled. My life as well as that of the rest of my family changed from grace to grass after several years that my dad struggled with an illness. The family's assets and savings went to hospital bills, though we lost him 6 years later, it gave us a couple of more years with him. For years we lived from hand to mouth. I would have dropped out of school had it not been for my aunt who promised to help me .through school by paying the tuition fees while I hustle to provide other needs. Today I'm a graduate, though yet to get a good job, the one I have is better than none. So my priority at the moment is to earn enough to provide for my family.

To be sincere I have dreams of being rich enough to place my family in a position of luxury, where they will never have to think of where to get the next meal, or how to get money to take care of a bill. I hope to have a lovely family and own a large animal farm. I like to make some sort of plans, although sometimes even I have a moment of spontaneity. I try to remain open to new things, but I need my alone time every single day. I need to have that quiet time that’s just me.

This is the me I was able to share with my friends 9 months ago and I'm now sharing with you. If you are interested in knowing more, subscribe to my subsequent articles. I would probably be sharing more about myself whenever I can. Please, do not expect too much, I live a simple life and I'm still a wannabe writer.

It took a while to come up with a title for this article. Just went with the first thought that came to heart. I'm thinking of changing to something else. What do you think? Any suggestion?

I’d love to hear from you!

15
$ 4.71
$ 4.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @CryptoMax
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 5
Sponsors of Macronald
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Macronald
3 years ago
Topics: Experiences

Comments

Hai i can say we have the same attitude before i hate publics or socialization i dont like recitation, im not a party girl too but now i need to go out from my shelves since i am a teacher so im fine with the public now i can communicate i can enjoy some socialization held at school but with the company of my friends only im still shy but not unlike before i hope you will find happiness with other people too because its good to be aqauainted also gor us to be more confident.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This feels like a more in-depth introductory post but I like it. Speaking of introductory post, I don't think I've made one since joining two months ago. Maybe I should make one? Or maybe not... Anyways, thanks for sharing your aspirations and dreams.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Am also an introvert in this extrovert world

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Why. Same. Haha. I too is very shy in timid in person since birth! A lil jolly on internet! Hahaha xD

The title suits well!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The same here. I can relate more with people virtually than one-on-one. Thanks for dropping by.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hello Ronald! What an again intro after 9 months. Nice to know more things about you. I am glad you open up your likes, hobbies, thoughts and other important things about your life. For me your title is unique, one can think what does it mean. I also love the color of your lead image, it talks a difference between times. Nice to see you here!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks MizLhaine for the kind words. I was having a hard time on what to post about today. Then the thought came to my mind. I revisited my old posts and viola! It came to me. Thanks again for reading.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I share the same sentiments! there are really days, that we don't have article in mind and then it just came along, as we go our profile and others profile. you are welcome! happy to know people here.

$ 0.00
3 years ago