Jane doe

3 26
Avatar for Macronald
2 years ago
Topics: Experiences

I wasn't sure where I was, all I saw was the blurry lights in the distance and the feel of the wet gravel on the side of my cheek. I slowly got up, trying to ignore the banging in my head, I felt a sharp pain jolt through me from my thigh, there was a deep wound there but I couldn't remember how I sustained it, I staggered forward, trying not to slip, using the walls as a guide. My vision cleared, and I saw myself in a dark alleyway with the road up ahead, I checked to see if I had anything on me and I felt something in my pocket, I just decided to check it later, the main thing then was to find help, or a small cheap motel to stay in for the night.

After walking for what felt like hours, I finally got to the front of a small diner, I then, at that moment, my stomach rumble. I was hungry. I decided to walk in, not thinking of my appearance, by the time I walked in I saw just two people both minding their business and both in the far part of the diner, though they weren't in the same booth they looked like they worked together. One was on his laptop, probably busy with work or something like that, and the other just sat staring at his phone. I went to the lady at the counter and called to her attention, she then looked at me with curiosity in her eyes, then she gave a little smile, I guessed she was used to seeing rain-beaten injured girls walk into the diner.

"Having a rough night honey?” She asked cleaning a cup with a dishrag. I nodded not sure o how my voice would sound if I spoke to her.

“Looks like you got it bad let me serve you some soup, on the house, when there’s something in your stomach, we can talk okay?” ‘Some people deserve more than this life’. I thought about the woman who just offered me free food. I nodded and went to seat in a booth, the man across me looked up from his laptop and faced me, he grimaced as he made eye contact with me, then he had a curious look on his face, just like that look you have when you think you see something that looks familiar to something you’ve seen before, but he just continued to work on his laptop. A few minutes later the lady came back with a tray that had a hot steaming bowl of soup and a spoon on it. She then placed it in front of me and picked up the spoon and handed it over to me.

“Be careful, it’s a bit hot. It’s an old family recipe and it works for everyone, c’mon take a sip”. I picked up the spoon and scooped up a bit of the soup then gently blew on it and placed it in my mouth, I looked up at her at that moment, sure that my eyes lit up, and I gave a smile. The flavor of the soup went through me slowly filling me with energy, and the heat of the soup chasing out that chilly feeling I had since I woke up.

“Thank you”. I managed to mutter and I took the bowl and drank the soup straight from it, I ignored the burn in my throat and took it all in, savoring the tantalizing taste and feel of it. I dropped it down and sighed, finally having enough energy to form a sentence. I hoped it was enough anyway.

“How was it?” She asked leaning on the table

“Good, it helped, it was sort of soothing and at the same time wild”

“That’s how it works and it’s good to know that you’re ok, so how can you tell me why a girl like you is out on a night like this? You look like a dump right now. What happened to you?”

She asked with worry written all over her face. I tried to remember but everything was blank as if all my memories just began from the time I woke up.

“I-I don’t remember, I don’t know how I got to be in this situation, I don’t know where I am or who I am for that matter, I just woke up in an alley and found my way here, to you.” I felt like crying as I said everything. At that time I couldn’t remember anything, or anyone, or anywhere, all I knew was I was alive and speaking to that woman.

“Wow, that sounds… rough, check if you have anything on you, like an ID or a nametag or a wallet or a picture, anything at all” I quickly checked my pocket since I remembered feeling something in there before. I brought out a leather wallet, it was wet but the things in it were still dry. I emptied it and found some loose change, a rumpled dollar, some pins, two buttons, a picture of an island, and finally, my ID card. I brought it closer to my face and saw a picture of me looking straight and not smiling. I then saw my name at the center of the card.

“Arianna Brooks. The fourth of November. This card says that it was made in Kentucky, so there’s a possibility someone you know lives there. So now we know your name and probably where you lived, so what now?” I looked up at her asking myself the same thing ‘What now?’ But something still felt off, even my name didn’t ring a bell, nothing on that card felt familiar. I had no idea of what to do next so I just looked up at her and shrugged then looked down and shook my head.

“Ok so here’s what’s going to happen, I’ll get you a first-aid kit to help with the bleeding on your leg, then you’ll wait till I lock up the shop and that’s in another twenty minutes give-or-take,  then I’ll take you to my place where you can stay till we get you figured out, is that okay with you?”  How I was blessed that night, I had no idea how but I was grateful to whatever force of the universe that brought this angel to me. I was so happy I didn’t reply until she asked again that was when I finally agreed.

To be continued...


Bitcoin cash is on the move and has crossed my $1000 price prediction before the end of April just mid-way. Now we look forward to getting through $2000. May the bull run continue.

6
$ 5.18
$ 5.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @meitanteikudo
+ 2
Sponsors of Macronald
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Macronald
2 years ago
Topics: Experiences

Comments

i read this somewhere before. was it you who originally wrote this?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the story haha akala ko matatapos may cotinuation pa pala yung tumatakbo sa isip ko malka mag-anak sila ng lalaking naka loptop hehe just a guest😂 I'll wait for the continuation anyway.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May the bull run continue 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago