Dealing with friends

1 33
Avatar for Macronald
3 years ago

Dealing with friends can be fun and at the same time stressful. Friends are one of the people you just love to spend most of your time with and it could hurt when you are beginning to feel left out on any event with your friends. In a situation where your friends threw a party and you weren’t even invited, you really feel the pain at that time most especially when even after the party they come around and hang out with you like nothing ever happened. Or a situation when maybe you had an issue with someone else and it’s your friends who are the ones escalating the issue and gossiping about you and yet still look at you with that almost alluring smile.

Here is how to deal with such friends in the most polite way possible.

Create distance

Just pay less attention to them. When I say pay less attention, I mean practically no attention to whatever it is they say or do. People say “put on a tough skin”, that’s exactly what you should do. Create that distance, if you guys go to classes together, you shouldn’t go with them anymore or if you guys hang out during the evenings, it’s a simple “I’m not interested today, you guys go on”. If they are even good enough to some extent, they would surely notice your distancing and probably try to come around and even inquire about your sudden change but if they don’t even care the distance created surely ends that friendship. And if the latter happens, just bear in mind that they were never really friends from the start.

Talk it out with them

When you are sick and tired of whatever it is they are doing to you and you finally realize they don’t have your interest at heart, just talk it with them. For example; “ I’ve been wanting to tell you guys something for a while now”. “ I don’t like the way you guys keep on stabbing me at the back, why do you have to keep on pretending to be friends with me when all you’ve always done is nothing more than hurting my feelings”. In essence, just come out plain with them and explain to them that you are either done with the friendship or they should just change, “someone's feelings are hurt”.

Although there are situations where it just gets obvious that your friendship with certain people just can’t work out even if you want it to, not necessarily because it is any of the parties faults but probably because certain things has changed. Sometimes you don’t even have to do anything before you figure that the friendship is already even a thing of the past and that friend you know becomes someone you knew.

Let’s say; you guys were close friends back at school but because you guys have to leave for different colleges and universities things just have to come to a halt. Or situations where you guys just aren’t in the same level of work for certain reasons. The end of such a friendship is just inevitable.

Friends are great people to be around they are special people and even in the worst and best moments, you are bound to find them. But the idea of losing a friend comes from the term; you meet people, that becomes a part of your life, your story and your chapter, but not everyone makes it to the end of that story because not everyone has a major role to play in your life, some are just there to give you lessons that are you stepping stones and some are just there to make you the happiest you can be and some are meant to be there by you even till the end.

That’s a friend for you

Teen Diary by Sussan

7
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @gerl
Sponsors of Macronald
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Macronald
3 years ago

Comments

Honestly, I only have a few friends left, my childhood friends. They are friends who know about my life from the very beginning up to now that I've had my own family. They helped me get out of heartaches 😅 that's the real one🤣

Seriously, when I got married, all my previous friends have gone. All I have now are my childhood friends. Friends who have stabbed me at my back aren't welcome anymore. I'm just being real to them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago