They Grow Money on Trees - A Success Story

12 82
Avatar for LykeLyca
3 years ago

Walking through the seaside here in the Philippines, you will see row upon row tall and slender palm trees crowned with clusters of coconut. These trees are revolutionizing coconut - growing here and abroad. Though these trees are only common in tropical countries, their demand is worldwide when they are processed and produced as coconut oil.

Here in the Philippines, the agriculture business for coconut palm trees gives a substantial profit with less cost in maintenance among other agricultural products. No wonder my late grandparents had given much passion and interest on this business.

My grandmother died few years back and looking back on these trees, I can always remember her words when I was still a kid that money grows on these trees. I would perceive that as a good metaphor like the tooth-fairy and Midas that can turn anything into gold. But as I grow up and mature, my perception on this metaphor changed, indeed there is money on these trees!

A month before she passed away, I can still remember her words to help my mom take care of this business. Was it a good news? No. The farm was dying, like my grandmother fighting for her life too for old age that time. There are debts to pay, the farm was mortgaged for a lot of reasons. It’s a hard pill to swallow. But, we have to do something.

And, I guess I did the right thing.

I resigned from my full time teaching job as clinical instructor and sought opportunities overseas. By God’s grace, I landed a job just a couple months after as Physical Therapist on one of Jeddah’s great hospital. I finally had a chance to save some money, little by little, for the farm. The sentimental value of it just breaks my heart to brush this dilemma aside, so, I make savings my priority for several years, and finally the amount I need to save the farm.

So, I really did the right thing.

I can say that; success has a lot of faces. It differs from person to person. Personally, I think, as we mature, success becomes an easy word to interpret. I think, it goes hand in hand with how are we contented on the things we have around us. But, life is changing, nothing is constant in this world, and again we will be in another battle and success will always be of great meaning to us.

Back to the trees, there is money indeed, but it grows with patience, perseverance and nurturing with love, just like how we care for success.

Below are some photos of the trees worth fighting for.

There are benches and cottages on this part because my aunt made a mini-resort on this area.
The factory, lol! I mean, the primitive way of drying coconuts into copra.

Thank you for reading this quite lengthy article, and trying to make last minute submission on @Eirolfeam2 $1 Question Giveaway which can be seen here https://read.cash/@Eirolfeam2/the-1-dollar-question-giveaway-eb5bfd95, and

@Macronald sponsorship contest https://read.cash/@Macronald/20-get-sponsored-here-ba6d2fde

I have an ongoing giveaway contest too running until Monday, you might also want to participate Random Act of Kindness - Giveaway, read it from here https://read.cash/@LykeLyca/random-act-of-kindness-giveaway-d2f83c70

______________________

Colored Photos from Pixabay (free to use)

Black and White Watermarked Photos are mine.

______________________

Please LIKE, COMMENT AND SUBSCRIBE

60
$ 0.23
$ 0.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Eirolfeam2
Avatar for LykeLyca
3 years ago

Comments

Wow this tree very interested and I am very happy watch to this tree

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for joining my giveaway event. I appreciate your time and effort exerted in writing this article. Indeed, success comes in different forms, and it is up to us to define it. I love the coconut tree because it is the tree of life. Everything that is within that tree can be used for human survival. It just brought me back to my idea of having my own coconut farm business. Haha These trees can give us the things we need and even our wants as long as we know how to take good care of it. thank you for this. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

All my knowledge about coconut is that I like to eat cakes where it is used as an ingredient and to grow on a palm tree, from me so much :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Of course, because you're in the food industry.. In business, coconut trees can offer more.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Trees aren't only a source of income, they are also the lungs of this earth. Good luck with what you are doing. I wish you all the best.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So, true! The very reason we have trees in the planet is because of that. Thank you and all the best for you too!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope your success to come, and these tress will probably give you money, and I wish A LOT OF MONEY. 😁🤭 This is a great article and really touched with how sentimental your farm is for you. Great article, Ate. 🙃

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just enough for the family, not solely for me. The money from the trees can't take us to Iceland, believe me hahah!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Awww. Hahahahahahaha. I wish it will, soon! Don't forget to mention it to me. Contact me if it happens.

$ 0.00
3 years ago