Too late to heal

0 11
Avatar for Lusipir
3 years ago

There are billions of people in this world that you can talk with, but Kyla was different. She's an only child and I'm her only friend.

I would not deny that she is beautiful and funny. She tells everything to me but it wasn't easy before it happened.

-

"Welcome Home!"full of enthusiasm welcoming me.

I'm sixteen years old so I can't believe anyone wants to adopt me. Yes, her parents adopted me but I don't think they adopted me because they want me to be their child but for their child, Kyla. I didn't regret being with them because they had everything I need and everything I wanted. My life has been good in them, I have grown in luxury, I felt parental love so I also accept their order to always talk to Kyla. They pleased me to take care of her and I accepted it as a payback.

The first time I met her, she became paranoid, she felt an extreme discomfort and after she went straight she would hide somewhere.

It takes time for our parents to make her believe that I was her big brother she rarely speaks.

We were the only one who were often left at home aside from the house helpers so I tried to talk to her,

"Hey wait, that's my shirt!"I said when I saw her wearing it. She just laughed out loud and ran as if someone's chasing.

There was a time that people are having fun because it was her birthday, but instead of enjoying her party she just cried.

"Why aren't you happy?"I asked

"I'm not ugly!!" She shouted and ran behind mom.

She is hard to be with but sometimes I suddenly laugh of her actions. So from that moment I promised myself that I will love her as my real sister.

It came to the point that she trusted me. We became closer and gradually she became talkative. She even told me different stories but I didn't know where did it came from as long as she just put her index finger in her mouth indicating that I should not tell anyone.

"No! mommy! I want big bro! Big brooo "Kyla cried in her room while keep on calling me, mom seems to be having a hard time taking her medicine especially she doesn't know if she's upset or happy.

Mom was so grateful to me because we actually saw Kyla's behavior is changing from a very quiet and moody girl to talkative and jolly. She also opened up that Kyla enjoyed going to the dark corner of the house to hide but now in my one call she listens and appeared in front of me. Becoming a doctor is my ambition and I'm planning to take that profession in college, one of the reason that keeps on pushing me to pursue that course is I want to know Kyla's illness.

Kyla is only eight years old but no one knows about her condition if it will worsen or healed. There are times she will cry in no reason, she often has no emotions and continues telling me things that are not normal. When someone is new to her eyes you will hear her speak.

"Do you know what is Love big bro?"she asked me one night.

"Of course Kyla" and gave her a wide smile.

"She... keeps staring... at me "she said it with no emotions

"What do you mean?" I asked but she didn't answered.

Some nights I thought about what she was saying. My sister seems to be lying but when she mentions a woman I can't help but wonder.

"She's so beautiful" Kyla whispered

"Can I meet her?"

"No! She's mine!" She shouted at once. I also saw the blush of her face. I eventually felt scared of the woman, Kyla was referring to. She's probably not a lesbian right? Every time we talked she's just staring at me and said that, that woman she mentioned often cry. I was over protective after that so I often watched her for days so I also found out who she was referring to.

Last time, I saw Kyla alone in her room and found the answer. I laughed for being too much curious on her secret crush. She was talking to herself in the mirror and with each stare she saw her own reflection in my eyes as well.

********

I couldn't help but cry when I remembered my sister. She died at the age of 16 and what makes it painful is she committed suicide. My little sister has a schizotypal personality disorder and that's just some of the symptoms of people with mental disorders like hers.

I graduated from a medical school. It took a long time but I reached the profession where my sister was my inspiration. As a great psychiatrist you will be learning, studying, diagnosing, and treating mental disorders. I loved this profession as much as I loved my sister. Now, I like to help others, improve their lives by conquering their mental demons.

2
$ 2.56
$ 2.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Lusipir
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Lusipir
3 years ago

Comments