Next to her

0 16
Avatar for Lusipir
3 years ago

I sighed and sat down in the bed when I heard things were falling.

At exactly 12:00 in the midnight, I hear a cry of a woman, I hear her crying again. It somehow scary but all I can feel that night was mercy. I manage to control myself even though I wanted to know who's behind that cry.

I am living in an apartment here in Manila. It's near to my school so it is less hassle. My parents chose this apartment for me, it's kinda big that a family can live hear. But its perfection is not seen in size because it is so thin that when a neighbor's things fell I can barely hear it.

I heard the door opened beyond my room, her husband probably left. I couldn't stand it so I tried to climb the wall and unique block of every unit in the apartment. I knocked three times...

I was just trying to get her attention but I was surprised because the door suddenly closed.

Meanwhile someone knock in my room.

I smiled because it means I got her attention. I immediately went out of the unit and went to the other door. She's my beloved neighbor and I know how far is our age. I was just seventeen that time and she was twenty nine but as good as she was she just looks like me. She already have one child and of course a husband.

I knocked on her door and immediately it opened. I embraced her

"Are you okay? Did your husband hurt you again?"

"Don't worry about me Mike, I'm fine"

"Don't worry? Then what's that in your arm?"

She covered it in her hand and bowed.

"He's just upset today that's why, but he loves me so much"

I didn't listen to what she said. Really he loves her? Then why did he keeps on hurting his wife? She don't deserve this but she can still smile despite the pain she feels and because of that I admire her being strong.

"I'll just make some milk, can you look at my baby first?"she begged me

"Okay let me have him"

She gave me her son so it now hangs with me as I watch him. If I didn't know this woman I wouldn't think she had a family. Her body is still sexy and her skin is so smooth. She has a light skin that's why I can easily see the bruises on her arms and feet.

"Mike! How's your school?"she asked.

I'm still wearing our school uniform that and noticed that her husband went out I immediately came in as if it's my house.

"It's fine... ahhhmm Happy Valentines Day " while I'm shy saying that and gave her the flower that had been hidden behind me.

"Wow, this kid's sweet... thank you "

"I'm not a kid anymore and if you think about divorcing your husband I'm ready to court you" bravely I said.

Suddenly she laughed and held her stomach as if I was really joking.

"I love my husband so much, I can't afford to loose him"

By those words I suddenly felt my heart in pain. How could this woman love her husband who did nothing but hurt her?

Every night there unit is so noisy, I can hear their arguments. It was so loud and I could hear her cry. I didn't have the courage to intervene but in my anger I went out and knocked on their door loudly. I immediately returned to my senses and remembered what she had said, that I should never intervene on their argument especially when her husband was there so I ran back to my unit.

"Ouch "she complained as I rubbed the wet cloth on her lump

"It can't be, he has to be in jail for what he does... I will report to the police" I said

"No Mike! , please... just let us solve our problem"

"But.."

"He loves me Mike, I saw it in his eyes last night that he still had some concern to me"

I was relieved and continued to do so. The next day we talked again.

"Someday you will also find a woman you'll love and marry" she grabbed my cheek and confronted her

"If I look for someone I want her to be like you but it would be better if it's you... brave, loving, kind and beautiful" I said

It knelt down and shook my head too. I always wanted to take care of her... to love her but it's very impossible because I can't even teach her to love me.

I didn't know that was the last conversation we had. Because I never saw her again as if she had just passed my life.

"Mrs. Chavez this is my payment ,I'll also pay in advance for three months" I told the apartment owner.

"Thank you! I really need it now"

"Did the room next door already paid?"

"On the Right? No one lives there for a long time, I'll go ahead I have work to do"

She left and I stopped, starint at the door next to my room. I swallowed deep and stared for a long time. No!..I know it's not true! The noise and the cry I know it's true. She is real!... her smiles, those we talked about and the day I loved her.

I cried for a few days before deciding to forget everything. I also thought about leaving the apartment so I could move on to everything. I stared at her unit door for the last time and left a short message on a paper.

I still laughed at what I did because no one would read it but I still slipped it under her door.

I lived with my family again until I graduated from Management Accounting course.

My parents introduced me to a woman I didn't like. They call it 'Arrange marriage' and this is the most important habit of the rich. They may be called powerful but they want to elevate themselves even more. I didn't fulfill what they wanted to do!

I fight the person I love, I fight Jane. First time I loved her I loved her like my First love. They have the same personality being with her was not easy because I did not receive any legacy from my parents. Even the company I dreamed of .I had to find a job in my own way.

"We can do this, Mike. I love you" Jane said.

"I love you too Jane"

I smiled and hugged her. The romance of the two of us prevailed until she became pregnant and we lived simple in an apartment. It was fun for our days but the problem was still unavoidable. We sank into debt especially when she gave birth. I tried many jobs but it's no longer compatible with the course I ended up with. All I could think about was my love for my family but it was exhausting... I'm tired too.

"What is this? Why it's so dark?"my complaint

"You forgot to pay the electricity bill, my dear"

"Shit! why don't you remind me?!!"

"So-sorry-" she stopped when I threw the chair.

We were overwhelmed by the fees and our quarrel became frequent. The day came when I was passing through the problems. I came home drunk and I hurt Jane.

"Mike? I thought... maybe I can work, so that I can help you as well?"

"What? Does my salary isn't enough?!!"

"That's not what I mean"

"Then who will be taking care of our son? Are you going to give him to anyone?"

"No-I won't do that, I just want to-"

I was annoyed and cause me to stone anything I could touch and I didn't mean to hit her. Her arms were injured so I stopped.

"I'm sorry" and grabbed her

" Release me! Just go away" she was crying. She cried so I didn't know what to do so I opened the door.

(Tok tok tok)

I even heard the knock on the other wall but ignored it and closed the door.

Sometimes I just sleep with my friends. I know my wife is still angry with me and I don't know what else I can do every time we fight.

"What is this?!!"my angry question to Jane

"I just bought... flowers"

"Don't make me a fool Jane! you have a husband and a child then you still entertain boys?"

"No-" in my anger I slapped her

"I'm tired... I'm tired of life!" I said

"I'm also tired Mike!... but I love you so much, even though I'm tired I'm trying my best not give up because I love you .. " she cried

I held my head and ignored what she said. Suddenly there was a loud knock on our door I approached and it opened immediately but no one's outside.

"We are no longer happy Jane, from the very beginning this love has ruined my life" I told her.

I don't know if I said anything wrong as if I blamed her for all the misfortunes that had happened in my life, that I sometimes wondered what my life would be if I didn't get married at early age.

5
$ 3.92
$ 3.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
Sponsors of Lusipir
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Lusipir
3 years ago

Comments