A stranger in the the forest

1 6
Avatar for Lusipir
2 years ago
Topics: Short Story

"Do you believe me?"

"I will always believe in you"

I have asked him several times but he continues to answer me as if he had heard this question before.

"What will you do if you'll see him?" He asked me

I just stared at him and smiled just because I didn't know what to do so I didn't know what to answer. He looked back and restricted the steering wheel. I just focused on the places we were going through and leaned head to head.

I'm with my boyfriend and we're going to Bulacan Province today. I have wanted to go back to the place where I was born. It's been a long time since we left the place and went to Manila to forget about something that had never been lost in my mind.

(Flashback)

(Phone ringing)

"Mommy!!"I cried

"We will do everything as long as you just bring my daughter back to us! Don't hurt her!"

"A Million in exchange for your child's life"

It's been a long talk but this is all I've heard. I was just playing outside the house until a Black car passed by and I was forced to get inside. I can say that we are the richest in this province so they have no other motive but money.

I don't even know where I am. A small window overlooks the growing tree surrounding the area. Maybe the abandoned building I am in the forest is in the forest.

I was so scared back then. My hands and feet are bound. At the young age of ten I used to focus on guns just to keep me quiet. I experienced seeing the men in front of me with their loud laughter. Their bodies are big and the tattoos on their arms are scary.

During the waiting period and watching them I finally fell asleep

"AAaaaahhhh!!!!"

I woke up from a loud cry. I noticed that my hands and feet were no longer bound. My eyes widened. My fur were raised and my mouth was covered. I walked slowly

The men who had been drinking earlier had no life. Surrounded by long branches of misty straps wrapped around their bodies. My eyes still see a man holding his hands on the branch forcing him to lose his breath.

The old and abandoned building is filled with long branches and little leaves

I ran out even though I didn't know where I was going. I look around but only the tree I see

"How can I get home?"I whispered in the air and couldn't help but cry.

"The son of nature is here!"

"He's here"

My hands trembled at what was heard. Does the wind seem to talk to me. I covered my ear because it kept whispering to me. I ran away even though I didn't know where I was going

"Come on!"I was deeply moved to hear the man's strange voice.

"Don't be afraid" again stated it that calmed me down. It was just a gentle voice and I knew it was a boy too.

I approached a tree where his voice was getting stronger but I backwards due to a change in the tree's body. At the retreat I did not notice a boulder. I was clumsy and could fall apart but I felt the branches beating me and it seemed to embrace it. It was like I was now confined to someone's arms. I smiled and fell asleep again.

The wind was so strong and the leaves were lying to me. I was so sleepy that I had a hard time opening my eyes.

"She is so beautiful... I want to marry this woman"

"At the right time my dear son-"

I've been opening my eyes. I even shot them and stood up. I look around again but I still can't see who's voices are there.

"You're awake, come on let's play"

"Who are you? Where are you" I rotated around

"Don't you really see me?"

"No, how do I play with you?"I asked. I heard him breathing deeply

"Open your eyes"

"I'm the one you didn't see, my eyes were still open!"

"Open your eyes yet and not only will you see me but also the true beauty of those around you"

I breathed deep I didn't know what he was talking about but my eyes were closed. Emphasize that my eyes are closed and the environment is better.

The noise of the birds. The cheerful trees. The growth of weeds. The cold breeze. Growing fruits from the tree. Flowering plants and grabbing butterflies.

As I opened my eyes I saw. The real beauty of the forest. The hidden treasure of nature. It seems like a paradise. With a wide smile I raised my hands as if I could hold everything. I rolled my eyes, this place was wonderful

I stopped seeing a boy in front of me. If you look he's taller than me. In his dress it looks like it is still woven with leaves around. His skin is white and very smooth. His eyes are long but his green eyes are more striking.

The wind was flying over my long hair that almost covered my face. As I brushed my hair we were once again staring and the heavenly smile we both showed.

He reached for his hands. I slowly touched it. As he clung to it he pulled me and ran into the forest.

"Run!"

"Ara Faster!"

"We're going to hide? You used to not chase me- "

" ...and my name is Araleah! better to call me Leah than Ara tsk."

"No, I like Ara!"

He was still grinning so I was more excited. I even bought the run to chase him but this guy was really fast. We played all day in the forest. Hiding trees. Frustrated with butterflies. Jumping on the rocks and I also tried to climb the branches.

"Where are your parents?"I asked

"My mother is just around"

I turned around

"but no one's here"

He laughed.

"Ara! At the right time I'll marry you that's a promise!"

"Mommy says wedding is very sacred as well as the word 'Promise' so you shouldn't say that as long as you're not sure"

"But... You are Mother's choice for me"

I just shook his head. We're so young for that I didn't even understand them as long as I knew I couldn't get married Mommy said. He was determined by his promise but I still think about getting back to my family.

"It's great here! like magic, it sounds weird. Next time I will visit again and I will be with my family"

"All the forests in the world are like this. My Mother takes care of them... but-"

He stopped talking and shed a tear from his eyes. It still glows as it slides down his cheek.

"But what? Why are you crying?"

"We are slowly losing our wealth. In exchange for the governing buildings and the fruit of the people's work it is ruined. I hear my Mother's groin. Someday this forest will disappear too"

With what he said I couldn't help but cry. I approached and hugged him. I could feel the heat of his body. I could feel his heartbeat and his blood flow. All of this is true and I know he is true

"You won't allow it?"he wiped the tears on my cheek and smiled together

"We will not allow"

The story ended and we played when the darkness came.

"Go home! your parents are worried"

"Ahhhmm... I don't know where the right way is"

"Just follow the fireflies"

The surroundings illuminated the release of fireflies without knowing where they came from. We followed here as they lined up to point our way. Suddenly he stopped walking-

"This is my stop, see you again"

"What if we never meet again?"

"We will... and I will always watch over you, Promise!"

Again I hugged him tightly.

"What is your name?"I asked

"Me... si-"

He had not said that it had gradually disappeared. The fireflies light just kept going and I was good to follow it until I got to our house. I turned around several times but he was gone.

I got back to my family. I didn't even know if Daddy was still looking for those who had taken me before. I insisted on every incident in the forest but no one believed me. My family was just worried. Maybe I was traumatized-what's going through my mind. No! I know all of that is true. How I was save from the hands of evil men. The forest seems to be paradise. The boy I was with. But no one believed me.

We left the province to have a new life again. I have done nothing in this regard. They even consulted me with the doctor assuming I was crazy.

(End of flashback)

4
$ 1.73
$ 1.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Lusipir
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Lusipir
2 years ago
Topics: Short Story

Comments

I am fan of your story-telling 👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago