What the US Crypto Amendments and Regulations are Achieving

0 18
Avatar for Lukros76
2 years ago

The past 2 days, the only thing I've been reading about, basically everywhere, are these attempts at regulating crypto by different US senators, what they individually think and the proposals themselves. There is so much going around it's pretty hard to latch on to, so I didn't even try. I'll admit it right away. I've got no idea what these bills, amendments, proposals or whatever they are, even are. And I'm not attempting to understand it further mostly cause I am not from the US. But the details of all of this isn't what I wanted to talk about anyway, since you could find that info anywhere on the internet right now.

What I do want to focus on though is what I've seen people do in the past 2 days to attempt to stop these bills from going through, or making their respective senators rephrase the proposals or a bunch of other amazing things people have been doing, in just 2 DAYS!

First things first. I've been on Reddit quite a bit monitoring all of these happenings and there is no doubt in my mind the community there really made a difference when it came to the calling of senators in different states. So much so that they tried very hard to prove to people that calling senators was a worthwhile thing to do. There was an entire post detailing how the entire process worked from a person that used to work for a senator and if I was in the US, I'd probably have called my senator. Despite the fact that I hate calling people on the phone.

Now, me just saying this isn't enough to prove that this had an effect. But what might be are the news headlines that almost unanimously mention the massive amount of calls the senate has been getting because of the current situation. Of course, this isn't only Reddit users, it's a lot of other crypto enthusiasts coming together to fight something that threatens the decentralized and private nature of cryptocurrency.

These calls have been somewhat effective as well as the proposals have been reworded multiple times allowing the further inclusion of different types of currencies like POW, POS and so on to be named distinctively within the bills.

Other senators have called for the dismissal of the proposed bills as they would stifle innovation and make the American people even poorer.

Overall the bill has been slowed down significantly through the united work of thousands of people throughout America and it's really fascinating to see, it also shouldn't be that big of a surprise since the people that are in the crypto landscape are people that are digitally literate (usually ) and can easily organize and willingly do what they need to do if it will benefit them, or other potentially.

And it's not even over, the bill is yet to pass and who knows when it will, if people keep blowing up the senates phones it might end up not passing at all, though that might also be bad if certain opinions are to be trusted. Unfortunately I do not understand the situation thoroughly so I can't comment. All I can say is, well done guys, that fighting spirit right there is what will continue to grow crypto even further!

Thanks for reading, hope you liked it!

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Lukros76
2 years ago

Comments