The Magic of Productivity

0 28
Avatar for LukeB_
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Work, Goals, Writing, Life

How do I accomplish a task I challenged myself with?

The answer is easy. Just do it. However, the truth about that statement is that nothing could be more difficult. Being productive is one of the simplest actions despite most people being unable to do it.

Why is that?

Personally, I set myself many goals and plans that I want to finish despite never really starting in earnest. Procrastination is the term the describes this state the best.

Taken from Unsplash

Instead of sitting down, and writing the article I planned on finishing three weeks ago, I grab my phone and look through another hour worth of funny videos and relax on the couch.

Instant Gratification and Refusing to leave my Comfort Zone is what keeps me from focusing on what I told myself to do. Humans generally refuse to start a project without being rewarded right away.

At least, that is why I never began studying until one night before the exam. It is also the reason why I love to try out new sports but quickly abandon them after hearing that it takes months until my practice pays off.

Work and Reward are two things that are deeply intertwined in our mindset to the point where it becomes difficult to do one thing without the other.

So, how do we change that?

Sometimes, we simply do not have any other choice. When it's work-related, we have to to the work even if there is not reward. After all, there is a chance of the consequences regarding failure being much higher, serving as the perfect motivation to be productive.

Taken from Unsplash

Still, when it comes to personal goals, how can we make sure that doing the work without a reward in sight actually lets us be productive. The answer that I found is simple.

Let the Work be the Reward.

Now, what is meant by that? For example, when I love writing about a particular topic, I do not consider it to be work.

If you want to write a story, make sure that you enjoy what you write all the way to the end. Then, the chance of losing interest is small.

The same goes for hobbies and work. Playing a sport you love makes it easy to continue on doing it.

Even if you do not enjoy what you do in every aspect, you can make it important and worthwhile by envisioning the benefits they bring you in the future to find your motivation.

May that be a better figure or physical health by working out or income and career prospects by studying for a degree, by finding future benefits, you won't lose your motivation.

I know many friends who stopped or changed their degree because they had no plan why they were actually doing on. They stopped looking past the piece of paper that hardly matters at all.

Finding our motivation is the key to stay productive. Then, the rest is easier than we think.

2
$ 0.50
$ 0.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for LukeB_
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Work, Goals, Writing, Life

Comments