Sauce Recipe — Salsa di Fegatini (Chicken Liver Sauce)

0 13
Avatar for LovedRecipes
2 years ago

Ingredients:

  • 50g (2oz) butter

  • 1 small onion, chopped

  • 50g (2oz) unsmoked streaky bacon, derinded and diced

  • 50g (2oz) mushrooms, finely chopped

  • 250g (8oz) chicken livers, diced

  • 1 tablespoon plain flour

  • 2 tablespoons Marsala

  • 300 ml (1⁄2 pint) chicken stock

  • 1 tablespoon tomato purée

  • salt and pepper

Procedure:

Melt 40g (1 1⁄2oz) of the butter in a saucepan, add the onion and bacon and cook gently for 6 to 8 minutes, stirring occasionally. Increase the heat and add the mushrooms and chicken livers; cook, stirring, for 2 minutes. Add the flour and cook, stirring, for 1 minute.

Add the Marsala, bring to the boil, then stir in the stock, tomato purée and a little salt and pepper. Bring to the boil, cover and simmer for 30 to 40 minutes. Stir in the remaining butter and check the seasoning.

Can also serve hot with pasta but I prefer this recipe as a dipping sauce on fried meats or bread spread for sandwiches.

Serves 4.

Way back when I took culinary arts in college, I created various types of dish from any book I found online (2004-2009). Those info is well written in my cookbook that I kept safely in my province for future use to open a restaurant business. Since the pandemic hit in 2020, I doubt about opening one and pursue a different business that can sustain even amongst the difficult times will hit, it won't be affected. So now, my treasured information about recipes, I will share it here.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for LovedRecipes
2 years ago

Comments