Target: Back to the 80s - 90s

13 44
Avatar for Loucy
Written by
2 years ago

Recently in the noise.cash channel 'En español' we made a dynamic called 'Noise Wars' in which users had to defend the qualities of their favorite decade. It is interesting that many of the posts yearned for the 80s and 90s: the music, the fashion, the movies…

Were bands better? Was the music more artistic? I don't know. But one of the conclusions we came to is that many singers and bands that appeared in that decade are still considered great talents. However, the same is not true for the later decades that are full of 'one hit wonders' that have already disappeared.

But I don't want to talk about music, I want to talk about cinema. Thinking about it, it turns out that something similar happens. Movies and series from the 80s and 90s are still highly valued 40 years later. And I wonder why…

Source: Own creation. Description: I love that free typography from www.dafont.com

Were you born in the 70s? Congratulations! You're a market target.

Those who were born in the 70s made it to the 80s as teenagers. Perhaps the time of life when you experience everything most intensely. But those who were teenagers in the 80s are over 40 today. And they are probably fathers or mothers of kids who are now teenagers.

This generation born in the 70s are now adults, probably have well paid job and are the ones who function as prescribers of what kids, who do not earn their own money yet, buy and consume. How to reach these adults so that they allow their kids to consume certain products and services?

Ah, nostalgia, that powerful feeling

It is impressive the amount of creations that go back to the 80s. Remakes, reboots, or creations set in that era are constantly being released. It's as if movies and series wanted to attract fathers and mothers to capture their sons and daughters. Don't believe me? I have plenty of examples.

Remakes of Robocop, Total Recall, Predator, It, Baywatch, The A-Team, Blade Runner, Karate Kid (the movie with Jackie Chan and Cobra Kai series), Footloose, Coming to America 2 (with Eddie Murphy, 90s icon), Star Trek, The Mandalorian, Jumanji, Dune… shall I go on?

All of them are remakes, reboots or continuations of movies (some, more than 40 years old). Then there are the nostalgic documentaries: the movies that made us, the toys that made us, High Score… not to mention the craze unleashed by channels to turn your old PC into a retro console to play that games, much simpler than those of today, but that occupy a privileged place in the colective memory of entire generations.

¿What about biopics of 80 and 90 stars? Freddie Mercury, Elton John, Motley Crew… have their own biopic. There are also series like Stranger Things, which mix a little of The Goonies with a little of Poltergeist and Alien. And others like Ready Player One, which are almost a tribute to the 80s and 90s. And directed by Spielberg! (iconic director of those years). There's even a prequel to The Dark Crystal with Jim Henson's puppets!.

Another obvious example:

In Guardians of the Galaxy (movie for a young audience), Starlord listens to 80's music on his Walkman! And the figure of David Hasselhoff (icon of the 80s and 90s thanks to Knight Rider and Baywatch) is recovered. Also are Sylvester Stallone and Kurt Russel (Tango & Cash), very famous and loved actors in the 80 & 90.

But if that's not enough, what about this music video promo from the movie?

Yondu (Michael Rooker), Gamorra (Zoe Saldaña) and Starlord, wait-until-the-end-of-the-video (Chriss Pratt) are the best! Ha ha ha!  (Can you recognize them all?)

It's hilarious, and clearly aimed at 80's nostalgics. And even the song is cool!

David Hasselhoff singing 'Zardu Hasselfrau' that means 'David Hasselhoff' (due to a pronunciation error by Gamorra in the movie) makes me cry with laughter.

I could go on much, much longer!

But I think you'll have gotten the point by now. All these series and movies, not only seem to be aimed at today's teenagers, but also at their parents (who are the ones who pay for movie tickets or subscriptions to streaming platforms).

I have a feeling that the 80s and 90s have become a nostalgic fetish capable of selling again, stories already sold decades ago. And in addition to those who feel that nostalgia, it reaches their sons and daughters.

The positive side is that I think that these works inspired by the 80s and 90s are able to seat fathers and sons, mothers and daughters in front of the same screen. They are like an intergenerational bridge that allows two generations separated by more than 30 or 40 years to share interests, stories, and narratives.

And the truth is that this part, even if it has a clear commercial purpose, seems fascinating to me.

Wouldn't you agree?

This article has been possible thanks to all the people that has written in our noise.cash channel 'En español'. But also thanks my sponsors that encouraged me to keep writting. Take a look to their posts. They are really great!

6
$ 2.48
$ 2.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @CoquiCoin
$ 0.10 from @King_Gozie
+ 5
Sponsors of Loucy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Loucy
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

También soy fans de esas épocas. Nací en el 83 y claro que veía y escuchaba lo que le gustaba a mis papás. Te puedo decir que al pasar de los años, me seguían gustando y me gustan lo que le dicen musica de viejos y en cuanto a las películas aún disfruto ver las películas de cantinflas que pasan en la tele en blanco y negro.

Poder ver u oír algo de esas épocas me trae tantos recuerdos bonitos.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Claro! De eso se trata. Tus padres te inculcan un gusto... y cuando eres adulta y puedes consumir por ti misma, sigues escuchando ese estilo de música y viendo ese tipo de películas. Es una transmisión de una generación a otra, de unas preferencias de consumo, que el marketing conoce, estudia y potencia en profundidad. ¿Por qué?

Tú lo has dicho: "me trae tantos recuerdos bonitos". Es decir, nostalgia.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you. My son likes the music that I used to listen to, Queen, Police, Davie Bowie, etc. And I love that he likes that music and not reggaeton. 😉

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha... Perhaps he likes that bands because you have somehow 'theached' him to like them. So, YOU are the target of the music he listens to... until he earns his own money. When that happens, he will continue to consume that kind of music... the market feeds back itself XD

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OK ok you are telling me that we are an easy target so that due to our nostalgia our income is reduced because we are compulsive buyers. What a good analysis hahaha, but wait let me write down a list before you forget to tell you that if to everything that proposes me from the mecca of cinema, because of course you will spend my money on them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nostalgia is a money machine, and the cool part is that they know how to catch younger audience to be part of it (Guardians of Galaxy with its amazing tracklist and Cobra Kai are perfect examples of that), as a millennial, I can tell you that I love 70-80-90´s music, and the industry knows that like me, many people are on the same harmony.

PS: Listen to the last Bruno Mars´album, it´s full of nostalgia and you can feel the 70´s vibes on it

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It is a money machine, indeed. Just look at the price of second-hand toys and collectibles of those years. They are physical NTFs!! XD

Millennials that love 80 & 90, and listen to Bruno Mars, are the best!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the old series and movies too as they really speak a lot… I was born in the 90’s although never knew anything back then but they where amazing movies back then and very interesting…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let's do a math exercise: If you were born in the 90's, it means that between 2000 and 2010 you were a teenager. It is possible that the music, series and movies that were aimed at you during those years, were based on series, movies and music that your parents watched and listened to... when they were teenagers!

Indiana Jones, Star Wars, Die hard, Swat (AKA Harrelsons men), Miami Vice, Robin Hood (With Russel Crow, clearly based on Kevin Costner’s Prince of thieves) , Tron Legacy…

Isn't it crazy?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like to consider myself an old soul for enjoying most of the classics, I prefer to watch the original movies and listen to original songs than the remake. There is something about that authenticity that makes it unique.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So do I! I guess you are younger than 40, then keep your 'old sould'. Nowadays having an interest in knowing the original works in their context is invaluable. As you said: there is something about them that makes them authentic! Thank you for trying to find that authenticity, and also for reading me Greatwolfman!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was born in 80s but I feel like I was young in 80s because I am very nostalgic when it comes to music of that decade. Songs that were made then, lives today and they didn't lose their quality. I like 80s music very much. Interesting article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha I am some kind addicted to MTV 80s! I think they had... 'a kind of magic' that make 'girls just wanna get fun'. When I start listening that I think: "don´t stop until I get enough'. I fell like a 'hero, just for one day'. OMG, what am I saying? 'In the name of love'!

$ 0.05
2 years ago