Small Gains, Big Dreams and Plans for the Future

0 24
Avatar for LordKingPotato
1 year ago

Hello pips.

Two weeks from now and it will be my 5th year here on the platform. Time surely flies. I've only made a few connections during this span of time which is quite the opposite of why most people join social media. I'm not disappointed though, even with minimal interaction lurking here and there already became an ingrained habit of mine. It's fun and interesting to observe what real people do around the world. From the simple gardening posts to some extreme ones like spearfishing and paragliding there are lots of gems everywhere which really helps me broaden my horizon.

The curation job makes it more rewarding as I'm getting paid in Hive for something I love to do. Yes, I'm also one your curie curators and my handle is @pineapplepen. You can always message me in either accounts if you notice that I'm doing upvotes on suspicious accounts. I'd say that the plagiarism in Hive is not as much compared to the Steem days. I've been curating for years but I still fell from their traps a few times. Hivewatchers does a great job in eliminating abusive users and saves me lots of time in cross referencing posts since I auto mute users from their list which are guilty of plagiarism and those serial spammers.

Consistency is the key might already be cliché. But this is proven and one of the most important things I've learnt by observation. There are authors who only need 2-3 posts to gain attention while there are others who have to wait for years. As long as there is substance even if you have to wait for along time it will come, you just have to have the patience to push through. Commenting on relevant posts is also helpful, especially if you manage to form a connection with people that has considerable Hive Power. Hive is a social platform so these interactions are valuable.

My interests are varied. In my early days I started out writing about science stuff now I'm blogging about gaming. These past few months I've been trying to be more consistent as much as possible. The last 17 days I made 6 posts and they earned me around $60 in author rewards. It's not much but it's a great way to slowly accumulate Hive Power and HBD. I now have 219 HP and 135 HBD. The short term goal is to have 500 HP by the end of the year and as much as possible avoid powering down. The ultimate goal of this account is to reach 10k HP from purely author rewards. Accumulated HBD would be reserve as emergency funds and Hive earned from curation would be traded on Binance. I have a few thousand hive on Binance and made some significant gains betting low and highs.

Recently, I reached my goal of accumulating 5,000 SPS. Four hundred is in hive engine wallet and the rest is staked in Splinterlands. Splinterlands is one of my greatest regret in my crypto journey. I'm one of the mid level pioneers and had a good number of Alpha cards. If I remembered correctly I used to have a complete level 7 Dark Summoner deck while water, earth, fire and life are all level 6. With a couple of golds and legendries I sold it for $600. That could've change my life if I hold them for another two years. Well, I got no choice since at that time I was about to live in the streets for being unable to pay my rent. As they say there's no medicine for regret, but we have to move on and learn from it.

During the pandemic I created a youtube channel. It gained more than 300,000 subs in a span of two years. CPM in the Philippines is awful as 17 million views only amounted to around $ 9,500. There are many subscribers that are polite but there are those who made a subscription just to say mean things. I almost read all comments back then and it was a stressful experience. I slowed down on uploading content until I stopped for more than a year. I'm trying to make a comeback now but it seems that the algorithm left me. The channel is in the education niche so there's lots of competitors and due to inactivity I was out competed. It's possible to make a comeback but I needed to put on more effort. I can now request for a silver play but I will do it when I reach 500k subs. The ultimate goal of this channel is to reach 1M subs. It might take me forever but everything is possible with enough dedication. cross fingers

Right now everything seems to be all over the place. The plan is to be more organize and schedule things to boost productivity. Hopefully, I gain some momentum before the year ends.

Thank you very much for reading.
Have a great day.


1
$ 0.00
Avatar for LordKingPotato
1 year ago

Comments