Read the following passage carefully

0 23
Avatar for Lomaloma
3 years ago

am proud to be in the one profession which moulds young minds and prepares them for the fu

When Ivoluntarily opted for this profession forty-one yecars ago, I Ccould casiy nave chosen any others

the future

er, such

role of an ecider brother or a kind parent. So I chose my protession ruiy consc1ous or my action because no

other role would have pleased me if it didn 'Tkeep me close to children.

As a leaner, I had no problem with mastering tacts. I had never been Tound wanting in my studies. I ha

great respect for those brilliant teachers who were believed to be walking encyclopedias. Naturally

therelore, wanted to be admired and respected as a storehouse and alspenser oT KDOwiedge. Besides, I

wanted to influence the views of others through imparting knowledge. Aterall, most of my own views had

been shaped by my tcachers, whoml admircd.

Moreover, there are Circumstances and conditions unique to the profesSion. I loved the long holidavs

which eXceeded the normal leave period in the civil service or the commercial tirms. I also loved the

relative peace of mind which Was the rule among teachers. Our teachers did quite a number of things in

common and even dined together, just like brothers and sisters. To us learnmers, they were not rivals but

colleagues.

So,I plunged myself into it. After secondary school, I opted tor a degree in education at the university to

the surprise of my parents and triends. Three years in the college of education and another three in the

university prepared and shaped me for the career. Today, after thirty-five years in the profession, I ask

myself howit has been. Did I er in my judgement?

The answer is "No. Factors that endeared the profession to me are still there but times have changed. in

all my years as a pupil, I never Knew ot a learner contronting his teacher nor ever heard of a pupil openly

as medicine, accountancy, engineering or law. But I had an irresistible love for children. I loved playino ause to

-1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Lomaloma
3 years ago

Comments