Star Bread

2 31
Avatar for Lois
Written by
2 years ago

I was cleaning the kitchen cupboards and found out I still have enough ingredients to bake bread. I decided to make a star bread. It's a common bread in the Philippines which has three criss-cross cut on the top topped with white sugar. The bread itself is perfect for coffee sessions since it is not so sweet. I also love the crunchiness of the surface.

The recipe has been given to me by a friend a long time ago. He was one of the first bakers of a bakery which was also the first bakery to go nationwide here in our country.

The following is the recipe I used:

  • Hard flour 3 cups

  • Soft flour 1 1/4 cup

  • Active Dry Yeast 2 tsp

  • Salt 1 3/4 tsp

  • White Sugar 2/3 cup

  • Butter 1/3 cup

  • Buttermilk 1 tbsp

  • Water 1 1/8 cup

First, I greased the baking sheet I will be using so that the baked product's bottom won't stick.

In a mixing bowl, mix the dry ingredients --- flour, yeast, buttermilk.

In another mixing bowl, dissolve salt and sugar in water using a wire whisk. It must be completely dissolved so that the crumb is smooth and has no big holes.

Pour the liquid ingredients in the bowl with the dry ingredients. Using your hand, mix them until they are fully incorporated.

Add the butter and continue mixing. I use my palm to fold and flatten the dough for faster mixing.

Dust the surface you will use with flour to prevent the dough from sticking on it. Use a rolling pin to develop the dough. Flatten the dough and fold then roll. Continue to do this until dough is smooth.

Cut the dough into desired size. Round the dough and tighten.

Make a criss-cross cut on the surface of the dough after 30 minutes proofing. The depth of cut I make is 1/2 of the dough height's to achieve that nice star-like appearance. Then continue proofing.

Brush the surface with evaporated milk after an hour proofing, and continue proofing for another hour.

Top surface with sugar before baking for 18 minutes.

Enjoy this with hot coffee or hot cocoa.

3
$ 0.84
$ 0.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Lois
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Omo, I would love to try this recipe! It has been so long since I've baked though. These days, every responsibility of mine calls me before I can even destress and bake for my family. I think we call this bread "Putok" in our bakery haha I am not sure why but maybe because it looked like it exploded forming a crater in the middle. Thank you for sharing this!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope you'd be able to chill soon and do some baking. 😊 let me know how this turns up.

I love "putok" breads. Yumyumyum!

$ 0.00
2 years ago