Hissssss.. It's a Snake!

5 579
Avatar for Lois
Written by
3 years ago

I was out in our backyard looking for ripe Calamansi fruit to mix in my sauce and juice. I was already picking a few fruit when I decided to pick at the higher branches. Since it was getting very dark, I fished out my phone and illuminated the higher branches.

Imagine my horror when I found this.

I jumped back and roared in fright. The first thought that came to mind, "king cobra!" A few days ago, a 21-year old college student from another barangay near ours died from a king cobra's bite. You can understand my fear. 

I called my 3 neighbors who were cleaning their fruit stand near our house telling them I found a snake. We all went back to the Calamansi plant and looked for the snake. We were careful not to disturbed its rest. After finding it, one of my neighbors said it was not venomous. It was a hanlulukay, a Philippine whip snake. It is often found in branches, and it can jump from one branch to another.

We let the snake be on its own. It might be just trying to catch some food, or just enjoying the cold night. 

(CTTO PNGGuru.com for the thumbnail image)

4
$ 0.00
Avatar for Lois
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Wow, what an experience, I just can’t stand snakes, glad it was not poisonous. An interesting read.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yup, was glad it wasn't poisonous too. The banakon snake, the longest venomous snake in the Philippines, is known to 'run' after people not away. Some encounters said, they hear several 'psstss psstss' as if calling to them. And some said, they are also known to knock on people's houses.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

katakot naman yan..jusme kung ako makakikita niya baka natulaley ako sa takot..😱😱😱

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha panic and run, sis!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wala ng run sis puros panic nalang .😂😂😂takot talaga ako sa mga snake may experience ako niyan nung bata ako putik d ko makakalimutan..😂😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago