Dad

2 16
Avatar for Lois
Written by
3 years ago

Lapit na Father's Day. Another year celebrating without him. It's true when they say that the pain of losing a loved one doesn't go away. You just learn to put it in an unsealed box, always ready to come out with just a hint of a reminder. Kahit ano naman seal, di naman talaga naseseal.

He was very protective of us. He always reminded me to love and take care of my brother. Madalas kami mag away ng kapatid ko when we were kids. I was the eldest, i used to tease my little brother til he cried.

He taught me how to play the guitar. He was really good. Marinig nya lang, kaya na nyang tugtugin. Sya pa yung nag aadjust sa singer. He wanted me to be one but mababa boses ko, di ko kaya ang high notes. He taught me when I asked him. Grade 5 ako that time. My finger tips were sore and tender but it was fulfilling. In turn, I taught my little brother and cousins how to play the guitar too. They got real good at it. Me, basic pa rin. My dad would laugh when I complain.

He was grammar conscious and always naman kinokorek nya ako. While growing up, millions na seguro slip ups ko. Tinatawanan nya na lang ako. Maybe natanggap na nya I can never be as good as him. My essays, my poems, the articles I wrote for my HS school paper, sya nagpoproofread. Mas marami pa syang nakikitang error keysa teacher ko.

He was a very generous person hindi lang sa aming pamilya but sa mga taong nakakasalamuha nya. I've heard countless stories how he helped a lot of people esp nung burol nya, not just monetary but as well as knowledge and skills.

Writing about him just made me miss him more. I wish he was still here. I wish he met my daughter. Ang daming wishes, ang daming regrets. I'm just holding on the faith that one day, makikita ko rin ulit sya.

3
$ 0.07
$ 0.07 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments

Same tayo na nawalan ng mahal sa buhay sakin naman mother ko.. kaya i feel you sariwa padin ang sakit at nakakamis sila lalo pa nga sa mga times na kaylangan mo sila pero wla na ehh.. pero ang mahalaga wala na silang hirap na mararanasan sa piling ni God..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True. Kakamiss sila. Sobrang miss. Sana one day makita din natin sila, mayakap, masabihan kung gaano kamahal. 💔😓

$ 0.00
3 years ago