Meghdoot Episode 1

2 7
Avatar for LittleBird
3 years ago

Aitri whispered in a hushed voice, "Shubhankar, I want a baby!"

I looked at her gorgeous red eyes and replied in a calm voice "Seven months of your pregnancy!"

Aitri stared at me in a strange way for a while and then crouched down like a baby girl! As if he believed me with the slightest doubt. Most of the time I wake up in the middle of the night and see Aitri sitting awake. The eyes are very red. The kind of red that can't be looked at. I was scared at first! Worried! I used to ask him a lot of questions but I could not get an answer! I slowly realized that at that particular time, Aitri did not answer any sentence in the form of a question! Gradually my fears subsided and my worries disappeared

In the morning I brought Aitri to Subodh Babu. Subodh Sarkar's chamber in a two-story elite building next to Allen Park on Park Street. Aitri has been kept in her council for the last six months. Her problem started after pregnancy. Some weird behaviors I didn't pay attention to at first but gradually everything started to look unusual.

"Aitri Devi, how are you?"

Aitri threw the opposite question to Subodh Babu in a simple voice, 'Do you think I have gone mad? "

Subodh Babu was silent for a few seconds, probably looking for an answer, then said softly, 'Do you ever remember what your childhood was like in Meghalaya?'

At this point in the conversation I got out. I know what Aitri's answer will be! He doesn't remember anything. Subodh Babu has asked this question hundreds of times in the last six months! Aitri's forgetfulness seems to have brought me to the deep sea! Standing on the verandah and holding the last cigarette in Dunhill's packet, I thought Aitri Subodh did not say "your idea" in front of Babu and said "your idea!" Is there any anger or arrogance for me inside Aitri? Or any other new feeling!

In the evening I sat on the roof with a coffee mug in my hand. Aitri is wearing a light golden sari today. My idea is that the proportion of motherhood is increasing day by day. That form again grows abnormally from time to time! I am surprised that people are so beautiful!

Breaking the silence, Aitri asked, "What is your name if you are a girl?"

'If you know how to be a girl?'

'It will be a girl!'

'Cloud Angel'

Aitri asked in a cheerful voice like a baby girl, 'Why Meghdoot?'

'Her mother is a piece of cloud and she is a cloud angel!'

Before finishing the sentence, Aitri turned her eyes and looked at the sky. The next event is predictable. This time he will see the clouds. You will see clouds for a while. Then he will return home upset. Put your head on the pillow and go to sleep. Suddenly I woke up in the middle of the night and saw the beautiful red eyes are sitting awake!

I know Aitri's present as much as Aitri herself does not know. But his past? Who do I get his past?

Lately, I have been afraid to leave my wife and go to the office. I have a paintbrush in my room and he doesn't even touch it anymore. The amber-colored sari in the cupboard doesn't open the fold even if it is made by mistake. But a year ago, Aitri was as restless as a shower! Light, pure and full like a piece of cloud!

Getting ready for the office one morning. At that time Subodh Babu's phone call. I was a little surprised. Gentlemen do not usually call without urgent need. He picked up the phone and said in a worried voice, 'Can I come and see your wife once?

'Of course! But what is special? '

Subodh Babu smiled and said

'Oh no, Mister. The purpose is to increase the friendship with the patient! Your wife doesn't like me again! '

I politely said, 'Then have lunch with us at noon, then you can hang out.'

Subodh Babu laughed but everything did not seem normal to me. She had a sore throat. There was a bit of a rush so that if I spoke a little more I would catch what he was thinking. These unsolicited thoughts increased my anxiety.

Hearing that Subodh Babu would come, Aitri's eyes widened in annoyance. I prepared food with office earnings. Then I sat down at four! Subodh Babu did not come. Seeing my wait and anxiety, Aitri remarked twice. I did not think why Subodh Babu is not coming!

Subodh Babu came after evening. Though there is an impression of thought in his eyes, he is quite calm in his behavior. As low as possible he asked me 'Where is Aitri?'

For the first time I heard Subodh Babu calling Aitri by name. He usually calls Aitri as Aitri Devi.

'The woman is sleeping. Shall I call? '

The line of thought on Subodh Babu's forehead seemed a little clearer. He said in a calm voice 'Nah. Shubhankar Babu, listen to what I have to say now.

You will not go to the office till the delivery date of Aitri Devi. Do not sleep at night. Do not keep any tools at home like self-harming. Can't hold kitchen knife '

Subodh Babu said the words at once.

I asked in surprise, 'Are you suspicious?'

Subodh Babu got up without answering. I did not have the courage to ask a second question.

The sleeping woman did not even get up to eat. I went to bed next to him at half past two in the night. As soon as I closed my eyes, I realized that Aitri was sitting up. So he was not sleeping? I did not open my eyes. After a while, Aitri lay down again. I looked and saw that the girl was fast asleep. Ink under the eyes. Smooth skin has become dry. The lips are dry. I also think Aitri looks beautiful. Looks pretty good. I removed my hand to touch it, thinking it would wake me up! The regret of not touching Aitri's cheek once that night will remain with me for the rest of my life!

The next night I woke up at half past three. I was surprised to see that Aitri is not there! I was not at all ready to see the scene I saw in front of my eyes when I knocked on the door of the room looking for the picture of Aitri. Aitri is groaning in severe pain. Wearing traditional dress of Jayantia tribe of Meghalaya. The last time I saw her in this dress was four years ago when she left Meghalaya and came to Calcutta with me.

The girl in the red and yellow dress of mulberry silk in front of me, the message of my unborn child, seemed to me to be a complete stranger. Looks like he's not one of me! She is like a seventeen year old girl from a small tribe in distant Meghalaya!

Aitri was taken to OT. He is becoming unconscious again and again! The doctor came and said in a gap, 'Why are you so late! I've been in pain for a long time! '

What a surprise! Aitri was groaning in pain for so long! Why didn't you call me? What did the woman want? Be late? Complications?

Until the moment before my call before the operation started, a word from Subodh Babu's words kept ringing in my head, 'Self Harm!'

Before giving the anesthesia, Aitri beckoned me. Then he gritted his teeth and whispered in my face with his face close to my ear. I felt as if my hands and feet were numb. Cold blood flowed through my spine ....

Let's go .....

3
$ 0.00
Sponsors of LittleBird
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LittleBird
3 years ago

Comments

I liked your story very much, dear. I also like your article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thank you so much for read the story. I'm by your side, stay by my side

$ 0.00
3 years ago