Love vs. Passion

0 18
Avatar for Lifiethery
3 years ago
Topics: Music, Love, Short Story, Life, Passion, ...

I have always been in love with music. I love how I can express my feelings and emotions to the audience as I play my violin. I love how I can tell a story with my music, be it a happy one or a sad one. It is as if music is keeping me alive, and violin is my support.

My life began to change when I met Mario. He transferred to our school at the start of summer and joined the music club. When our eyes met for the first time, I can guess already that we have the same understanding of music. And guess what? He also plays the violin!

When I saw him play the violin with his eyes closed, I was amazed at how astonishing he looks and how confident he was with his music. When he opened his eyes, our eyes met again for the second time. He then smiled at me, and that's how our love began. We decided to date, and violin became our third companion. The time we spent in the music room was the best memories I had with me. But just like any other love story, our love was not always filled with butterflies.

Somehow, Mario stopped playing the violin, although his love and affection for me never change. In fact, It feels like it was even stronger than before. From being my violin partner, he became one of my audience who silently watch and support me as I play my music on the stage. And somehow, I feel like I couldn't deliver proper emotions with the way I play my violin anymore. At the end of my play, I met his eyes at the audience's sit and then it hit me. Mario does love me, but he hates me. He stopped playing the violin because he knows that I always poured my heart when I play my music, but it was different from his. His music was gentle yet incomplete. It was different when I saw him play for the first time with his eyes closed. And then I realized that he doesn't close his eyes anymore when he plays. He started to look at me every time he plays as if he's asking if his violin's sound sync with mine. Why? Why didn't I realized this before he stopped touching his violin?

The season has passed, and I continue to play the violin. Mario was always there, sitting as one of the audiences that watch me play. Every time my play would end, I would feel exhausted. I feel suffocated, and I couldn't breathe. As if something is stopping me from letting myself convey all my emotions with my music.

My next concert was held at the coliseum. It was a big play, and there were a lot of audiences. Before I stepped on the stage, Mario smiled at me and told me good luck. I didn't let go of his hands. I look at his eyes, and there, I said the words that will free both of us. "Let's break up."

I let go of his hands and walk towards the stage. I heard the cheers of the audience, and the orchestra behind me began to play. I took a deep breath and closed my eyes as I start to play my violin. At that moment, I played to tell my story. After it ended, I opened my eyes, and there was no sign of Mario being one of the audience. I didn't feel exhausted, and the audience cheers are telling me that this time, I played wholeheartedly. I played without restriction. I was freed from suppressing my music. I was released from Mario's affection, and I could now embrace the sound of the violin.

I love Mario. But I have always been in love with music. And so, I decided to choose my passion.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Lifiethery
3 years ago
Topics: Music, Love, Short Story, Life, Passion, ...

Comments