How African scientists can give back to their home continent

2 20
Avatar for Lieda
Written by
3 years ago

Rafiou Agoro’s early-career experiences in France and the United States inspired him to mentor colleagues in Africa and those whose careers also took them overseas.

Rafiou Agoro

  •  

  •  

Students in Abidjan, Côte D’Ivoire, graduate with a digital-sciences degree in November 2019.Credit: Issouf Sanogo/AFP/Getty

I still recall my excitement when I started doing experiments during my master’s programme and saw a well-equipped laboratory for the first time.

I adapted easily to the theoretical aspects of my course at the University of Orléans, France. But my undergraduate training in Algeria, where I studied bioengineering, and my education in Togo, the West African country where I went to school, lacked practical training in research methodology and benchwork.

When I first arrived in France, I stayed with a friend of someone I knew in Algeria. After giving me a good meal (a standard welcome in Africa), he spent five hours advising me on how to open a bank account, locate my university department and find student accommodation. Because of his help, I quickly found an apartment on campus and developed a wide social network, including some fellow students from Africa.

Back in 2012, our first task on the master’s programme was to carry out a chromatin immunoprecipitation assay to detect protein–DNA interactions in the cell nucleus. I had amazing classmates who helped me to prepare the agarose gel and load my samples.

6
$ 0.00
Avatar for Lieda
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

https://read.cash/c/worldwide-ideas-ae97 Ma'am click this link to join community

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is awesome, taking us back to history

$ 0.00
3 years ago