Magic the Gathering: Duel of the Central Bankers

0 22
Avatar for Librarian
2 years ago

(Intelli Gaming: Media)

“Higher prices are the symptom, not the cause, of currency collapse.”
― James Rickards, Currency Wars: The Making of the Next Global Crisis

This article was originally written in 2014. I had myself some fun editing some fake Magic Cards. I wanted to express my views on what central bankers around the world were doing (printing, printing and more printing) in a funny way. I have added a bit of extra at the end to put things in perspective.

So, without further ado, here is the "Troika" of central bankers - 2014 Edition!

Emperor Draghi (2014)
Chairwoman Yellen (2014)
Kuroda (2014)

I gotta admit that at the time, in 2014, what I was hearing was that central bank balance sheet expansions were not over. This is what it looked like in 2014:

Central Bank assets (shows exponential curve) - Credit: DB, FRED, Haver

Fast forward to today and it seems that Covid-19 provided the perfect pretext for the newest, most massive expansion:

Cumulative Central Bank Balance Sheets - Credit: Bianco Research 2020

With today's announcement of 6 new Trillions of USD about to get minted, I feel it would be time to "circle back" and pay a visit to Christine and Jerome. Who knows... someone may even help me NFT those!

4
$ 0.51
$ 0.50 from @Crayban
$ 0.01 from @H3ruvim78
Sponsors of Librarian
empty
empty
Avatar for Librarian
2 years ago

Comments