Drilling Miniatures

0 32
Avatar for Librarian
2 years ago (Last updated: 1 year ago)
Topics: Gaming, Miniatures, Warhammer, Art, Blog, ...

(Intelli Gaming: Article) 

Back in 2015, I finalised an idea that I had in mind for many years. I wanted to drill my Eltharion on Stormwing miniature and insert a metal piece between the High Elf and the Griffon so that it held better.

Eltharion and Stormwing - Drilled and ready

When I broke it by inadvertence in 2015, it gave me the perfect opportunity to drill the model.

I wanted to drill the model so I can reinforce it with metal wire. But drilling must be precise and everything is relatively fragile so it is important to be careful. Ideally, drilling like this is performed before the model is painted. In my case, I had no choice.

I used the smallest bit that I have for my drill. I drilled about 1.5 mm inside of the miniature and 1.5 inside the griffon. Then I took a paperclip and cut it to roughly 3 mm. I verified that it fit well and cut a tiny bit more if necessary.

Eltharion and Stormwing, 4th Edition Warhammer

Finally, I made some epoxy glue, which I prefer for metal on metal. I dipped the 3 mm paperclip piece in the glue and then placed the glue-covered part in the griffon. Then I carefully applied some glue under Eltharion and also on the part of the paperclip that stuck out of the griffon and then joined both pieces together.

In the summer of 2021, I was able to capture the model outside in the afternoon light.

Eltharion on Stormwing enjoying the setting sun outside

Now that I take a new look at the model, I see that it could use small improvements to make it look better. Also, since the banners are missing from his spear, the model will have more life after I those.

Thanks for reading!

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Librarian
empty
empty
Avatar for Librarian
2 years ago (Last updated: 1 year ago)
Topics: Gaming, Miniatures, Warhammer, Art, Blog, ...

Comments