A genius or a miracle child?

0 19
Avatar for Lhumy
Written by
1 year ago

It all went down to when I was a child .I was a child of 10 years. I was different because I was not a regular one. I was an adult in a child's body. I knew more than what a regular child should know. I loved to hang out with adults,loved adult talks and readily and willingly gave advice on adults pressing issues.

Who was I ? a miracle child ? one whose parents ought to be proud of ? one whose community ought to find delight in. My own situation was not like that .I was calculative. A small body with an adult brain. This didn't go down well with my parents even though I had helped gave brilliant ideas to my dad's project which at all times turns out to be a success,my mom's court cases which also turns out to a victory. All these,I received praises and commendations from them which only lasted for that day.

Image source

My poor little friends had no inkling of what was running through my mind. They at times came around to play but most times went home disappointed because I could not reciprocate their kind visit.I entertained my friends merely by helping out with sums given to them at their various schools.

In my school,I was what people called a "genius". I represented the school the school in various competitions in which victory was always ours. How blessed was I with this gift😊. Most times, my little hand ached from congratulatory handshakes I received which I did overlooked because of the encomium always showered on me.

All this went on and on until when things began to fall apart in my family. Pressing issues I could solve, disputes I could adjudicate,court cases I could help win,all seemed impossible. I was devastated. How could this ever be possible? My mind began to ponder where I had it wrong. In my mind,it was as if I still had the ability but reality dawned on me everyone I noticed I could not help like I always did. My parents on the other hand felt the current situation in my family was just a phase which would pass. Most at times,I walked in on them receiving talks from my grandparents, prayers from men of God,and healthy marriage talks from councillors. My mind was divided. "How,why did this had to happen? These are questions I asked myself repeatedly. The proprietor and head teacher questioned me, What's happening Sam? What had happened to the active,assertive and brilliant me.

At a point,it seemed my parents cared less about my current situation. It was as if they expected it. My mom most times waved it off. She hardly listen to my complaints likewise my dad. All they ever said was that I was becoming over sensitive and inquisitive over nothing. This,I felt rather disappointing. I got fed up of asking questions . It continued for a long period of time till I was beginning to get accustomed to my current situation and that if my family's.

Situations took a positive turn around when I slept,woke up and discovered I was my usual self again. The brilliant, assertive and active me was back. But this actually raised the question "was I a genius or just a miracle child?

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Lhumy
Written by
1 year ago

Comments