#1.Pursuing my dreams

2 47
Avatar for Lhes
Written by
3 years ago

Hi, I am a newbie here and I just want to share something.

I grew up in a small barrio in an island somewhere in Visayas where most of my childhood friends doesn't reach the age of 18yrs old before building their own family. I have seen them getting pregnant at an early age even without the sacrament of marriage. Our brgy is far from school and maybe the reason why most of them did not pursue to finish their secondary level. I myself was tag by my family and even the neighborhood as "Ambisyosa " cause I never show an interest with any men in our place. Don't judge me please, I am not, it is just I don't wanna settle in an early age and let my future children experience what I had been through. Living in a barrio is not easy especially that my parents doesn't have a fix income and I have seven siblings. So I swear to my family and to myself that I will reach the age of twenty before I settle down. So I set my goal and timeline.

After I finished high school I started working at the age of sixteen. I did work as a all around housemaid. Oh, being a housemaid is not a joke, though I was lucky with my employer. However the idea of pursuing in college has always been in my mind but can't go to school due to financial reasons. I am giving all my salary to my mom to support my younger sisters.

After several months of working, a friend of mine help me to have a job in a restaurant. I was actually in doubt to myself if I can manage the work since I was the only high school graduate unlike my colleagues. However things went well, thanks to my co-workers who patiently guide and teach me with my job.

My work was boring until i met someone. He was an OJT from a university (HRM). I eventually fall in love with him. Our relationship went well until i met his sister who were supporting him in college. Just like a cliche scenes in movies, his sister didn't like me for the reason that I am not a degree holder. He didn't even had a decency to talk to me. He just cut our communication. That is when I realized that I really need to pursue my studies in college.

I did talked to my parents and informed them that i want to pursue my studies. Though my not so big salary was a big help, my mother supported my decision. What i did, i talked one our relative. I offer to be their "kasambahay" in exchange they will let me continue my studies. Luckily they agreed. Though it was not easy, i am always tired and can't have a full concentration with my studies. I could barely have time to work with my assignments. Aside from doing household chores, i am also a tutor of her two kids who are studying in a private school.

Every summer or long vacations, I would eventually look for another partime jobs. Sometimes i gave some of my earnings to my Mom.

Though it is not easy i eventually finished studies. Finally I am what they called degree holder. It cross in my mind to look for my sisters ex-boyfriend and slap her with my diploma. Just kidding but half meant though.

By the way I graduated in college at the age of 22 so I did keep my promise that i will reached the age of 20 before getting married.

A month after my graduation, I went alone in Manila to try my luck to look for a job. I did promised myself that my younger sisters won't experience what I been through while studying and I cannot do that I will stay in our province.

Luckily I did find a job, and I was able to send my sisters in college.

Oh, if you guys are curious if what age I got married, well I settle at the age of 28. I did make sure that my sisters graduated in college and I had a stable job to support my future children and not a dependent wife to her husband.

Of all I had experienced in life, what I had learned is, we can actually achieved our dream. We just need to work hard for it.

I hope I did inspire you guys.

Thank you for reading.

6
$ 0.18
$ 0.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @ewyr
Avatar for Lhes
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

"It cross in my mind to look for my sisters ex-boyfriend and slap her with my diploma." gusto ko tong line na to😂 dapat ginawa mo ate, char haha. Sana makapag settle din ako at the age of 28, gusto ko din kasi munang tumulong sa family ko pag kagraduate ko hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, for me it is much better to settle down if you are financially stable. Set your goals

$ 0.00
2 years ago