The Most Memorable Experience in my Life:The College Graduation Day.

0 26
Avatar for Lharamay
2 years ago
Topics: Experiences, Writing, Life, Story, Journey, ...

My life has a lot of memorable moments that it is hard to choose which one to write about. And I choose to write about my College Graduation.

So, I decide to go with my college graduation that happened recently. The day is still fresh in my mind and I can recollect everything that happened on that fateful day.

We all know how graduation days are important to us and our family members. It is a landmark day that marks the end of a cycle, just like giving birth, exchanging vows on a wedding day and death. Although learning never ends, graduation marks the end of those grueling days we spent reading and internalizing loads of notes just to pass few questions that barely covered even a quarter of the curriculum.

We had passed through the system successfully and the graduation was the official occasion that ushered us to the real world. Nothing could spoil the fun for me on this day. It was my special day that was bound to occur only once and I was therefore determined to make the best of it.

Graduation to me was a big deal and not because I wanted to be done with college and move out. On the contrary, I actually enjoyed my life in college. Graduation led to the end of the challenges I had to endure in college. Even though I studied through scholarships, I had to work for my upkeep.

The money I got from the scholarship catered for my tuition only and was not adequate enough to also sustain me. I had to enroll for evening classes, in order to be able to work during the day. Therefore, most of my days were spent in a restaurant, where I worked as waitress. It was not easy juggling between work and classes. Sometimes, I would just doze off in class due to exhaustion after a very busy day.More times than not, I would skip lectures because my body could not keep up with both undertakings. If I concentrated on one, the other would get affected. I had to find a way to balance the two. I would only attend classes when I had to. I also liaised with my colleagues, who gave me lecture notes each day to study at night.

It goes without saying that I slept for less than four hours for the duration I spent in college. Any spare time I had at work I would spend it perusing through books. But, I know that it was from the grace of God, who gave me the strength to endure when I felt like giving up.

Aside from the library and the precincts of the lecture rooms, college life was nonexistent for me. While people were going to parties and having great time, I was always reading. Although I loved playing tennis and was part of the high school team, I could not partake on it because I was at work. As you can see, my college life was not at all fancy and memorable. But, I am grateful to God, because some of my colleagues who were going through the same challenges gave up on the way. 

My brother could have assisted me, however most of his income was going towards our mortgage. Furthermore, he was not around until two months to my graduation. My father passed away when we were young and therefore my mother raised me and my three other siblings on her own. She has really struggled to see us through school. I have two siblings behind me, who are still under her care. She still has to feed them and pay for their school fees.

So, there was no way she could helpme, even if she wanted to. However, where she lacked in financial providence, she over compensated it with love. She would stay all night praying for me and fasting so that God could bless me to pass my college education and get a good job. It won’t come as surprise to learn that my mother was the happiest person in our house when we learnt that my name was in the graduation list. The graduation meant a lot to my mother than it meant to me.She also confessed that out of her four children, I was the one who reminded her of my father and she loved me so much for it. Her words were so heartwarming to me that I could not hold back my tears. I ran to her and gave her a tight hug, as tears rolled down my cheeks.

My brother gave an awkward speech that had us rolling with laughter. Even after his service in the army, he still had not yet mastered his shyness. My two sisters were brief and to the point, but their words touched my heart. I was the last person to speak, since I was obviously the “chief guest”.

After the speeches, we moved to the gift giving session, where everybody handed me their gifts. It was the first time in my life that I received so many gifts and from different people. They ranged from diaries and pens to clothes and shoes. Some people gave me money, while others gave me contact cards and recommended me to various employers. We wound up the evening with a word of prayer.

The day of my graduation is one of the best days of my life. On that day I realized that it does not matter where you come from, if you set your mind to do something nothing can stop you. Hard work pays and all dreams are possible. Always remember this: Life is not measured by the amount of breaths you take, but by the moments that take you breath away.🖤

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Lharamay
2 years ago
Topics: Experiences, Writing, Life, Story, Journey, ...

Comments