My Personal Goals

0 14
Avatar for Lharamay
3 years ago

I believe that the person who writes down their personal goals can achieve way more than the person who doesn’t. This is repeated advice in nearly every personal development book ever published, and I’ve found it to be true.

This page was born after I re-read my written goals from when I was 18 years old. They felt ridiculously unachievable when I wrote them, but today I’ve not only crossed most on the list, I have changed my whole mindset around the goals.

On this page, I will list my goals. Both those that are short-term, but also those which have a significantly longer horizon.

But why share something so personal as your goals? I believe in full transparency which I also hope to make clear on my about page. I have nothing to hide, and if this can inspire someone else I would be very happy. In addition, I believe that posting things online for people to see, it makes me more committed to my goals.

My approach

I have one guiding principle: I want to reach the limit of what’s possible. I accept going through pain in order to become the best possible person and achieve as much as possible. This means I am very willing to sacrifice short-term enjoyment and expectations if it means I increase the odds over the long run. This includes postponing bigger things in life such as family, kids and a house – they’re very important to me – but if I have to postpone them I will accept that.

I deal with my goals in the following way:

I have “life resolutions”, which are things I should always be doing – now and in ten years. It’s part of being me.

I have a bucket list. These are glowing beacons, helping me to go in the right direction. These should be extremely ambitious and should scare me because they’re way out of my comfort zone. You can check my bucket list here.

I try to plan 10 years ahead. I do this by having multiple types of goals. Items from my bucket list are typically inserted here:

  • “Long-term goals”, which is from a 10-year perspective. These should be very ambitious and scare me, but still realistic and approachable in ten years.

  • “Medium-term goals”, which is from a 3-year perspective. These are usually sub-goals of the “lifetime goals”, but more concrete and operational.

  • “Next year goals”, which is goals for the next year. These goals are concrete and realistic – yet they’re still big goals which require a lot of steps.

My “next year goals” is then broken down into OKR’s. OKR’s are then defined on a quarterly basis.

A great example of a long-term goal could be to “run a marathon“. When I was 18 years old and had a weight of 105kg – then running a marathon seemed like an audacious or even unrealistic goal. But as you break them down into running 3-5 times a week for over a year, then it becomes very actionable.

So let’s jump into my goals – starting with the long-term goals. Life goals are at the bottom of the post.

Life resolutions

(I just added this headline, meaning it’s a bit empty for now. Adding more as we go…).

Health & mind & body:

  • Stable maintaining a maximum 77kg weight and a max fat percentage of 15%. Status: doing horrible – 88kg weight & 20%+ fat percentage

  • Doing sports 5 days an average every week. Statusdoing an average of 4 days a week when zooming out and looking over long periods

Lifestyle & Experiences:

  • Continiously meet new people who become friends, and meet friends in groups at least weekly (a bit vague). Status: I’ve not met new people I’d call “friends” for at least a year, and not good at this.

  • Every month, take at least one item of my bucket-list. Crazy travels, adventures og experiences. Status: I’m great at getting travels & the casual weekend done – but actually trying new experiences and getting the item of the bucket list, not good

Long-term goals (10 years)

Business & Economy & Work:

  • Have a personal net worth of +100 million DKK. Deadline 2030

  • Either be a business angel OR be building something huge “Elon Musk style”. The underlying goal is to positively affect at least +100 million people on a yearly basis – directly or indirectly. Deadline 2027

  • Have and maintain a big network of leaders in both startups and corporates. Difficult to make concrete, but I have to be able to look in the mirror and say “yes”. Deadline 2030

  • Have a big direct or indirect audience based on my personal brand (1.000.000 people reading on a yearly basis). Deadline 2030

Health & mind & body:

  • Have paid for cryonics, so I will be cryo-freezed in case of death. Deadline 2025

  • Following best-practice longevity knowledge at a given time (assuming a mix of lots of sports, medicaments and avoiding some foods and liquids). Deadline 2023

  • Go through yearly full-scale checkups with MRI-scan, blood tests, hormone tests and more. Starting 2022

  • Have a very disciplined measuring plan for all my important biomarkers on a regular basis, all posted in an online dashboard fully updated, included and not limited to weight, body fat, activity, sleep, blood-sugar, blood-levels, and much more. Starting 2022

Lifestyle & Experiences:

  • Been in 70+ countries. Deadline 2027 (status: 46)

  • Continiously meet new people who become friends, and meet friends in groups at least weekly (a bit vague). Deadline 2022

  • Live in a house close to beach, nature and a big city I love and I can see myself living in long-term. Deadline 2027

Medium-term goals (3 years)

Business & Economy & Work:

  • Either run a large company (+100 employees) with growth potential or have made a serious exit (+50mio USD). Deadline 2023 (status is 39 employees)

  • Transition from being a strong operator (doing stuff) and manager, to becoming a strong leader and strategist. Concrete I should spend half my time during an average work-day on the strategic level and very little on the operational level. Deadline 2023

  • Either have a base salary of at least 75.000 DKK (own company) or have liquid assets/properties of above 10 Mio DKK. Deadline 2022

Health & mind & body:

  • Get a sixpack and maintain it for a year+. Deadline 2021

  • Finish a sub-4-hour marathon. Deadline 2023

  • Finish a 100km+ official bike-race. Deadline 2021

  • Following best-practice longevity knowledge at a given time (assuming a mix of lots of sports, medicaments, and avoiding some foods and liquids). Deadline 2023

  • Go through yearly full-scale checkups with MRI-scan, blood tests, hormone tests, and more. Starting in 2022

Lifestyle & Experiences:

  • Been in +55 countries. Deadline 2021 (status: 46)

  • Spend at least 50% of my time outside Danmark. Deadline 2021

  • Settle down in a serious relationship and giving it a serious shot. I’m not completely sure relationships (at least normal ones) are for me, but I’d feel robbed if I didn’t give it a 100% honest shot. Deadline 2022

  • Cross at least 15 items off my bucket-list before 2023.

Year goals – 2021

In 2021 I will run my goals in a much different way than usual. Usual I make lots of yearly goals & break them down into quarters.

In 2021, I want to make things much more simple. I only have the following goals:

  • Finally, get below 80kg and stay there

  • Start to live healthily & respect the longevity lifestyle

  • Find a boyfriend I really love and move together with her

  • Raise a series A & get a high valuation, and make sure Likvido will always be worth something

Thats it. Thank you for reading.God bless 😊😘

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Lharamay
3 years ago

Comments