A Story to share too (controlling a disease)

0 32
Avatar for Lexmar
Written by
3 years ago

Good day friends 😊 i do hope that we are all in the best of health condition always,amidst this pandemic with the help and mercy of our Almighty Creator.

I am a newcomer here. I am already a senior aged Filipino citizen,but still i am the youngest of the eight siblings from a humble,happy family here in Central Luzon.You can call me by my nickname alex,a father to three and a grandpa to six.

I was not so fortunate enough to attain a higher degree of good education for a better profession,but i was still lucky to get a job and worked as a bus crew in a famous passenger bus liner during my younger days in the 70's era. This is my first job in a big company,a job that introduced me on what really life is and what survival is all about. It was a new world for me,a new chapter, new places to see,new experiences,new friends and new companions from whom i learned the pleasures of the different vices in life that had affected my health as i aged. Almost everyday after work enjoying with them in an excessive drinking and eating till we got all drunk. I used to smoke three packs of mentholized cigarettes in a day then (whew! But now i am totally out from all of these doings). A lifestyle which triggered a certain genetic family disease in me, a global killer called"Diabetes Mellitus". Anyway whatever the cause maybe,the hi-light of this topic are the ways how i fought and dealt with it. And this is where my story sharing goes. May this article benefit everyone in anyway with the help of God.(my apology for my lengthen introduction,pardon my english, honestly we can express well in our own native tounges). I thank God for my loving grandson Lyke,a fine youngman.(you can find him in noise.cash nickname BCHSupporter) who really inspired me to try this cool site. Salute to everyone!

The year was 2013 at my mid 50's when i was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes. At 229 mg/dl fasting blood sugar,it was maybe a fullblown one. Because my eyes are blurry and all the symptoms were in me already. It was my daughter who persuaded me to see a doctor after noticing me getting thinner in appearance for unknown reason. First known symptoms to those who already have the disease like me (to name a few):

  • Increased thirst and hunger

  • Frequent urination

  • Weightlose w/out trying

  • Vision problem

  • Tiredness

I was really devastated that time by the lab tests results confirming that i'm already a diabetic person. "Welcome to the club! "said my doctor who surprisingly is also a diabetic one. He prescribed me medicines which he said is a continous lifetime maintenance because it is uncurable till death. Only to control blood sugar to spike is what a pill does". But you can still eat what you desire in moderate with your medicines"he added. I asked him if there were any side effects taking these drugs. He jokingly answered me "don't worry you will not know about the side effects anymore, you're already dead then".I even laughed with him but deep inside i am so much worried. Knowing some diabetic people who passed already and went thrue same history of medications but still suffered or undergone dialysis,leg amputation, blindness and stroke etc. before they died. I also learned that those meds causes damages to some vital internal organs of a patient that will cause other health issues in the future. Negative thoughts mixed up inside my mind. Is this cancerlike? Do i already have complications? am i ready to die to soon? How will i live an abnormal life now? Will i be a burden to my love ones physically and finacially like the others someday? Of course i do not like to go on same fate like theirs. Feeling the fear within me and know not what to do that time, all i can do is to call upon God for His mercy. "There must be another way,help me oh Lord"i prayed.

For almost three years i depended on my conventional maintenance medicines and vitamins for my blood sugar control. I seek medical advices from certain people. Searching on herbal medicine books for a cure. Trying some food supplements that are trending on social media. Eating more fibrous foods and less starchy ones. Right amount/size of fruits,oatmeals and whole wheat bread for snacks instead of white breads. Fish and veggies with a cup of brown rice(rice is Philippine's staple food). Whatmore I totally refrain from consuming all types of sodas and sweet bottled drinks or juices. As well as sweet foods like cakes,candies,chocolates,ice cream, honey and the likes. It was not hard enough sacrifices for a strong will to win a fight. I used stevia natural sweetener for hot drinks instead of sugar. I tried drinking extracts from boiled leaves of mango tree, guava tree, snake plant, insulin plant,aloe vera gel and many more. But these five are the best. (Before these i had already quit from excessive cigarette smoking and alcoholic drinks.) And it worth the effort of self discipline. My blood sugar was always in a normal level from that time(120mg/dl is not bad afterall) . No complications,all is fine,everything is in control. I looked healthy and i regained some of my weight lose before. But the medicines i am taking daily is still there. The lifetime medications i want to get rid off. Truly herbals and self disciplines helped a lot. But all were not sufficient enough without the maintenance for blood sugar control. But thanks God the best is yet to come.

It was on the year of 2016 when i learned about different kinds of diets. All are healthy and good types of diet. But the one with a low carbs,high fat diet enthusiastically caught my interest so much. Because it can kill cancer cells and bacteria in our body (a pistula in my anus was healed actually by this diet). It is also a cure for epileptic seizure. And offers a great result for the reverse of diabetes if successfully done. But the diet is not advisable to everybody's condition.(so it is in anyone's discretion to adapt this kind of diet and to avoid reposting any articles,just please make the pleasure of googling the said diet for full details of the process.thanks!) and it is hard for those who are fond of eating foods rich in carbohydrates to refrain from eating them. Big sacrifice is needed.

The good news! So i adapted this low carbs-hi fat fantastic diet for six months. Difficult in the first few days until i'm adjusted to it. No rice, no breads, no pasta, no sweets and sugary drinks of whatsoever(i drink a cup of coffee or cocoa with stevia and vco or butter) , no fruits except for avocado, no starchy vegetables and rootcrops. In my list of menu to eat only are meat(beef,chicken pork etc.) fish(including squid, shells, shrimp, crabs) eggs,cheese, butter, green leafy vegetables, cauliflower, brocolli etc. All mentioned are low carbs foods but high in fats that became the new fuel of my body replacing the low glucose level from carbs in my body at around 80 mg/dl. Less glucose, Less insulin problem. My pancreas recovered, my diabetes was reversed. My body became a big fat burning machine. And after that period i gradualy came back to my normal diet. And i'm so grateful to God my blood sugar is in normal level always without my maintenance(90-105mg/dl). Yes i am till now a medicine free diabetic. I only take vitamins c and b complex now. The five herbal leaves i've mentioned before became already a part of my diet till this day. At my age, mild 30mins. exercise under the morning sunlight, then drink warm water while resting. Wait for 40mins. before eating breakfast. And what do i eat from breakfast to dinner at present. Well anything healthy but all in moderation. Meat or fish(no more hi fats now) just eat with veggies everyday. The fibrous one. Refrain from any unhealthy foods. I usually snack on apples, oranges, guava,sweet potatoes, corn, cucumbers and wholewheat. A cup of rice and lots of veggies on mealtime. I can even taste a scoop of ice cream sometimes but no to sodas anytime. I am now happy and satisfy with my lifesyle and health condition as if i am normal person again. Imagine it's been 5 years from 2016 till now 2021 that i was spared from taking six tablets of damaging medicines daily. All because of what we eat called FOOD. I remember a saying 'WE ARE WHAT WE EAT' that i do believe. Because i understand now that 'FOODS CURE, FOODS KILL'. Just like how money helps but can also be the root of evil. Depending on how will you handle it. Also foods can be a root of all illnesses in excess and greediness. The secret is our eating habits and lifestyle. And the best doctor is always God above watching us always. Goodbye for now friends. Thank you for your precious time visiting this article of mine. Till next time Godwilling

To God be the glory!!!

Sponsors of Lexmar
empty
empty
empty

4
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @Alther
Avatar for Lexmar
Written by
3 years ago

Comments