Broken

0 10
Avatar for Letisha
1 year ago

*Flashback*

Daddy please drop the knife,four years old me screamed and wailed while trying to get my dad to drop the knife so he won't hurt mum any further,Leticia please go to your room and get...mum tried to say to me before my dad held mom by her neck and flung her across the room before storming out of the in the middle of the night to go to only God knows where, immediately he left I ran towards mum and knelt down beside her while trying to raise her head up,cause I remembered that mum would always tell me to keep my head up anytime my nose bleeds,seeing that there wasn't any tissue close by I tried using my favourite pink night gown that I was wearing to try and wipe some of the blood off her face,seeing that I couldn't do much I rushed into my room with the idea of trying to wake up my senior brother Kelvin who is three years older than me which makes him seven years old.. storming into our shared bedroom I discovered that he was still fast asleep,this had me wondering how he could still be peacefully asleep admist the whole chaos that happened in the living room.In the process of trying to wake him up I thought to myself that I'll rather take care of our almost unconscious mother all by myself "regardless of how small or big I am,I can do it" I chanted this mantle that was taught to me by mum in my head,before leaving the room I searched for a box of tissue paper in the cupboard, I took it and went inside our toilet and added a little amount of water my little hands can carry into a bowl,realizing I've spent so much time I took everything and rushed out to the living room only to see mum sitting up on the floor with her hands in her face while she cried her eyes out, I quickly dropped the bowl and ran towards her with the box of tissue paper still in my hands,in the process of trying to run towards her I slipped and fell on floor with a thud while the pieces of the glass vase dad broke entered my leg,causing me to bleed profusely,I cried out in pain and agony because I honestly don't know what hurt me more,seeing mum cry or getting myself injured by mistake suddenly I felt warm hands lift me up from the floor, I opened my eyes and saw mum while she placed me on her laps,squinting her eyes she tried removing the little pieces of broke glass that pierced through my foot,not wanting to concentrate on the pains I decided to take a good look at mum's face and discovered that her nose still bleeding,this brought tears to my little cat blue shaped eyes cause even when she's in pains she still took her time to tend to me.From then onwards I promised that no matter what I'll grow up to be a strong woman like mum,thats was the last thought on my mind before I blacked out.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Letisha
1 year ago

Comments