Three Important Lessons I Learned from Being Broke

15 30
Avatar for LeticiaFelize
2 years ago

I always wanted to have the best out of life. Comfortable living, financial stability, and name a few. But I can't deny the fact that I am broke. I don't have the money to live a comfortable life, I can't buy my wants, and so on. My focus in life is to provide for my needs, as well as my family's needs. Not to mention, being broke can make someone sad. The thought that even though you did your best, it's still not good enough.

"Being broke is so hard."

When I was 20 years old, I had my first job in a private company. Finding a job back then was so hard. I submitted a series of resumes from different companies, but none of them responded. Until one time I received a text from an employer about the schedule of my job interview. I could still remember how nervous I was in my first interview, but grateful at the same time as I finished it with a smile; I was hired, finally.

After hearing the words from the company that I was hired, I was so glad. I already thought of the things that I will do for my first salary. I told myself that on my first salary, I will surely treat my family on what they want. I will surely make them happy. That's what I thought, but it's the other way around.

Although I already had a job, living my life back then was still so hard. Not to mention, it hits different when you're the one carrying your water; every drop matters. Just so you know, I was only earning around 150$ monthly and I have to work from 7:00 am to 5:00 pm. After a long day, I can't even think of other things to do than to sleep and embrace the comfort of my bed.

During my first pay, I thought I can treat my family, but I end up having more liability than what I earned. That's because, during the first month of my job, I borrowed money for my allowance. I don't have other means of income so I don't have a choice but to borrow money to provide for my needs. I was also shy to ask for money from my parents because I was already earning. So I don't have a choice, but to accept the reality.

Sponsors of LeticiaFelize
empty
empty
empty
Beyond grateful to these wonderful individuals who are so supportive to me on this platform. You guys are the best!

Back then, I envied the kids the same age as I was. They were living the life of their dreams, they were traveling and enjoying every one of their lives while I was in the corner working hard to earn money. Needless to say, I was not complaining about my job, I was grateful for it as it helped me in some way to provide for my needs. It helped me to help my finally as well. Even in a small amount, as long as I could provide for my family, I was beyond happy. I never lose hope that one day I will be able to have financial stability, and having that job was my starting point towards it.

I worked in that private company for two years. Although it felt hard and even if I was still so broke even if I had a job, I was still grateful for that job. I learned a lot from my experiences there. That job honed me into who I am today. It taught me lessons that I will forever bring in life.

Three Important Lessons that I Learned from Being Broke

It's not easy to get broke, we all know that. Especially when we have experienced having nothing. It will make us feel sad, it will make us feel down, but it will give us a meaningful lesson that we can use for a lifetime.

Here, I listed three important lessons that I learned from being broke:

  • Be More Disciplined

  • Be Grateful

  • Little Things Matter

Be More Disciplined

I earned so little in my previous job and that taught me to be more disciplined in terms of handling my money. I have learned to budget my money wisely and to prioritize my needs over wants. Just so you know a lot of temptations are everywhere especially when the prices of the goods are on sale. We tend to get tempted to purchase them. Budgeting is the key and controlling yourself to spend more than expected is a must.

Be Grateful

Although I have experienced a lot of mishaps in my first job, I learned to be grateful amidst all of those. Being grateful despite all the things that are going on in my life is a must as it helped me to think clearly, instead of soaking myself towards the downfall of life. Being grateful also taught me to embrace what I have as of the moment, but remain hopeful that things will be better in no time; just trust the process.

Little Things Matter

When I was so broke, I have learned the importance of little things. I have seen the beauty of the little things in this world that we're living. The aroma of the coffee, the sense of freshness in the air, the warmth of the cold breeze as it touches my skin, and so on. These little things make me happy. Over time, I have learned the value of them.

Closing Thoughts

We may have faced a lot of struggles during our broke moments, but the lessons that we can extract from those experiences are truly priceless. These lessons will help us to become better. They will help us live in peace and harmony.

Indeed, being broke is so hard. You may feel like the world is again you, but trust the process, do your part to save yourself from broke moments. One day, things will get better.

"Embrace the lessons from being broke, practice positive thinking, and carry a grateful heart; these are keys for a better life amidst being broke, things will be better in no time. Trust the process."

Date Published: February 02, 2022

9
$ 2.88
$ 2.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 5
Sponsors of LeticiaFelize
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LeticiaFelize
2 years ago

Comments

The little things matter and you learn to appreciate things more.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Indeed, the little things that most people don't give importance with, means a lot to me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just love on hpw you ended this article with a hope that things will get better someday. Being broke surely gives many lessons to everyone of us. And one of the things that I have really learned from being broke is the attitude of gratitude.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aweee, I appreciate your thoughts so much my friend. I hope people will also do the same. I know it's hard, but things will be better in time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Important lessons to learn, being broke can make one hate himself. I remember my life in 2020 during the lockdown period how frustrated I was, I couldn't even recognize myself. It was terrible.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh, sorry to hear that my friend. I hopr you're doing well now. Indeed, the start of 2020 feels a bit suffocating as the virus start to ruin the world.. I hope our world will heal soon and the virus will be out of the picture

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen to that. I am doing great now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen to that. I am doing great now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Worthy lessons for you. Perhaps, the pain made you strong.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes my friend Lucifer, I've been through a lot of pain from being broke, but that made me who I am today and I'm still grateful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm with you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are doing well and always Share you're experience thing with us and having some great observation in environment capturing, This time really realistically word and experience for us to take care of ourselves

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Awee, as always, you're sharing wonderful input from my article my friend. Hope you'll continue to have a heart so supportive and thoughtful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your experience makes you more thoughtful. Use your learnings to explore things.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes my friend, and I also believe that experience is the best teacher. Our experiences will teach us a lot which could help us to be a better one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago