Three Months (Part 6)

0 15
Avatar for Les_ley
2 years ago

Lauren picked up the paper and opened it casting a glance through the content written on it. Her gaze fell on the name below, "Damien Coker" she called out his name quietly as he raised an eyebrow at her staring at her with eyes full of disdain and with a tone so frosty, he growled, Did you just call me by my name?"

Lauren was astonished. 'How did he know that I called his name? Is he psychic? She thought.

I'm sorry, sir. l-I don't know who you are but you know my name and did a background check on me.."

" didn't come here just so you could say my name! He cut her ott once again, his expression annoyed.

I apologize, sit" He glared at her then continued. "The contract states that you have agreed to obey every command I give you without fail for three months or face the consequences. He stated.

Lauren eyes popped out, "Wha-!? Three months?" she exclaimed.

Yes."

This is not fair" She raised her voice in protest. "This isn't the 19th century. Why should I work for you for three months?" Do you really need an explanation for that?"

"Yes I do."

He sat up straight adjusting his tie and began, "(Given your salary at your place of work, say, #50 .000 naira per month; do you honestly think that would be enough to cover the Cost of the glass you broke? The man explained in a deadpan voice with a smirked slowly creeping up on his lips, seeing the troubled look on her face.

Not being able to protest any further, Lauren bit her lower lip in frustration.

"What's up with that face?" He sneered. You should be grateful I didn't even make it a year:"

This was so messed up. Lauren raked her brain to think of a solution and came up with an idea hoping to gain sympathy from him. She raised her hand meekly and began in a soft tone.

Can I say something?

No! Sign the paper. I've got other things to do." His sharp reply simply put an end to her so called idea.

Well, it was worth a shot. She thought too herself and starred at the paper lying on the table for a couple of seconds.

Growing impatient, the man suddenly slammed his hand to the table jolting her back to reality.

"Woman, this Isn't the time to tor you to space out so suddenly He snapped at her.

She cast a glance at the paper again then raised her head to look at him.

"What? Don't tell me you don't want to sign it now. Or would you rather prefer spending time in prison? He sneered, taking out his phone pretending to dial a number when she said the words, "I'll sign it!" aloud.

"What did you say?"

T-The contract; I'll sign it."

Good girl." He put the phone away and scoffed, watching her pick up the pen and sign on the dotted lines.

Haven done that, he retrieved the paper folding it before putting it back in his pocket. He then wrote on a piece of paper placing it on the table.

Be at this address by 7.am sharp." He stood up while she slowly stood up watching as he started towards the door and then stopped; turning to her and added, "Oh, and if you're even by a second late.." he didn't complete his line, but showed her an evil grin causing a chill run down her spine, at what sounded like a threat.

Lauren stared as the man grinned again and the walked out the door. She slowly plopped down on the chair and heaved a sigh of relief as her body quivered in fear.

That guy is so scary; it's giving me the chills. She thought to herself. Oh, I thought he was going to have me locked up. But wait, something about him doesn't feel right. Never mind; it's just three months. There's nothing to worry about. I'll just do my best and hope that these months go by so quickly..'

To be continued.

2
$ 3.27
$ 3.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Les_ley
2 years ago

Comments