Three Months (Part 12)

0 10
Avatar for Les_ley
2 years ago

Vivian stared at him vaguely. "Your secretary. ..?

"Yes"

"What about Helen?"

"Helen is very much around."

"How come you have two secretaries?It's complicated. You need not concern yourself about it.

It you say so..." Her tone was displeased."

Damien could tell from the look on her face that she wasn't pleased to know that he had a new secretary. Vivian, on the other hand, didn't want to dig further into his affairs because he didn't say anything beyond his last reply because she sensed irritation, in every word he spoke.

She reached for her bag on the sofa picking it up and got up as she approached him.

"Okay, honey. I'll be on my way. I've got something I need to take care of."

"Okay. Drive safe and be careful."

"will."

"Bye."

"See you later then." Vivian said and walked out Damien's office.

Helen saw her coming out and stood up with a smile as a way of showing respect. Then way she did it, felt like she was doing this to get on her good side.

"Have a good day, ma'am." Helen said as Vivian paused staring at Lauren, who in turn stared back at her and said, "Have a good day, ma'am." She watched her turn, heading towards the elevator.

"Who is this lady that just walked out of here? Lauren asked whilst turning to face Helen."

"That's the CEO's fiancée."

"Oh. She's pretty"

"But, why was she looking at you like that?" Helen asked.

I have no idea." Lauren paused, I sensed so much hostility towards me. Maybe she sees me as a threat to her.

Whatever, other than that jerk, this is another person I need to be wary of. She wondered.

"Miss Ikojic?" Lauren heard George distinctively call out to her.

"Yes." She answered and stood up hurrying out of the office.

Moments later..

The CEO'S door swung open after a soft knock echoed inside the room. Damien's mum, Mrs. Patience (Coker, peered inside.

"Hello son." She said cheerfully and entered. Damien raised his head and was left speechless.

"Mum?"

What's going on today? First Vivian, now her... did they plan this? He pondered and soon realized he was still scared, and got up shuffling towards her as his expression quickly returned to normal.

"How are you, mum?"

"I'm fine. And how are you doing?"

"I'm doing just tine. Vivian was here just a couple of minutes ago"

"Really? Is that why you looked so Surprised when I walked in?"

They both sat down and Damien replied, "Yes. I thought you said we were going to have dinner together. What brings you here?"

"I was just passing by and thought to say hi."

"That's nice. What can I get you?"

"A glass of water will do"

Mrs. Coker really doted on her son so much that she would do anything for him as long as he would remain obedient to her.

She smiled happily convincing herself with that fact, as he pressed a button on the intercom on the table and it connected for as the voice on the other end of the linc answered, "Yes sir."

"Come in."

Yes sir" He released the button then turned his gaze at his mum.

"So, how have you been lately?"

"We'll, I'm fine as you can see." After a quiet knock on the door, Lauren entered.

"Yes sir. Good afternoon, ma." She greeted observing the woman in her fifty's seated before her, 'cold eyes, and stern face, elegantly dressed from head to toe. No doubt this is this jerks mum. Shee thought.

Get a glass of water for my guest.

Yes sir, right away:" Lauren turned, heading to the fridge at the far end of the room.

"Who is she?"

My secretary..." Damien answered casually.

What happened to the old one?"

"She is very much around." Lauren poured the water into the glass whilst listening to their conversation.

Patience stared at Damien suspiciously. I hope you are not using this as an excuse to play around."

Come on, mum. You know I wouldn't do that. She's just going to be here for three months"

Alright! I expect you to stick to what you just told me."

Yes mum."

Lauren brought the glass of water

forward and placed it before her as his

mother raised her head to look at het.

Young lady, what is your name?

Lauren, ma'am...Lauren answered.

Lauren... well Lauren, I'm sure you know whom you're working for. I'm sure you must've seen his wife to be. I want you to be aware of that and remain at the pace which you belong Is that clear?" She cautioned her tone filled with arrogance and disdain.

Wait, is she indirectly telling me to stay away from her son? Ugh, rich people! Why the insecurity?

"Yes ma'am. You can be rest assured that I will have nothing to do with your son." She replied, with a straight face.

"Mum Damien called out to her indicating to her that that's enough.

What? I'm just trying to make things clear."

"Mum, you're exaggerating. Nothing is going to happen between me and her. I don't even see her as a woman."

Wow! He's such a hand full. Lauren said internally with a mused look.

I hope so." She reached for the glass of water before her and took a sip then dropped it back on the table.

Don't worry, ma' am, I can assure you that nothing is going to happen between your son and me." Lauren reiterated with a serious voice.

I don't need you to tell me... keep to your words. I should get going now While Lauren stood there staring at the both of them, something had piqued her interest.

She noticed that when in front of his mother, he was utterly submissive, like the way a mam's boy would, but when he was with her he acts so high and mighty, putting on a frosty and overbearing demeanor.

Damien averted his gaze from his mother to Lauren and said, "You may leave."

Yes sir" She replied and turned her gaze to Patience and said; "Have a nice day, ma'am.

"You have a nice day: Lauren turned and walked out of the office.

Feeling insulted by Damien's mother's word to her as she walked out of his office, she stopped suddenly and turned sharply glarıng at the door then turned back and scoffed in amusement, and mockingly said, "Humph! What a joke. What? He doesn't see as a woman. Well,I don't see you as a man cither:" She curled her lips in disgust and walked away.

Meanwhile... inside the CEO's office, Patience reached for her bag and stood up looking at Damien.

"I'll see you at dinner."

Okay mum." He watched as his mother exited his Office.

At the hotel later that evening

Mrs. Coker and Vivian were already seated waiting for Damien to show up.

What's taking him so long?" Vivian asked focusing her gaze towards the entrance.

"Calm down, it's probably traffic. He'll be here soon." Patience replied with gentle voice, in a bid to ease her mind.

Vivian hung her head down as she had begun to doubt it he was even going to come. His mother still had her gaze glued to the entrance waiting for him.

Forty five minutes later, after waiting that long, his mother became anxious at the thought that he may not show up. The moment she was about to tell Vivian that they should leave, was when the doors opened.

To be continued.

3
$ 3.18
$ 3.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Les_ley
2 years ago

Comments