The Woman In The Red Dress (Last Part)

0 23
Avatar for Les_ley
2 years ago

But my woman in red, she makes mc smile. You get quite used to the humans you're attached to. How can you not? I mean you watch Over them, care for them, protect them. I kinda think of as having one long spell at being their baby sitter. Only it lasts for their whole lifetime. Us angels love to kick it with our besties laughing about our humans and what troubles they get themselves into. But het, she's different. When I speak of her it's almost with reverence. She's special. And that's not a good way for an angel to be thinking. We're impartial, impervious to emotion, impOssible to favoritism..impotent I often think in our ways. God told us to do a job, we do it. It's not up to us to deviate from the plan.

And believe me, that's policed. We guardVyou, they watch us. Even angels have a hierarchy, and those Archangels can be mean m.f.'s when they wanna bc. Think of military police tor our community, that's them (with a touch of brook no nonsense attitude ot part parent, part over controlling Headmaster). So I'm understandably playing her down, trying not to notice it, or burst with pride. But these things DO get picked up, commented on, and dragged up at every one to one, briefing, report and working lunch I ever go on! In short, Big Brother is watching..and they've got wings!

Thing is, it was someone else's mistake. It Wasn't hers. That's my point. She's an innocent, a bystander. I never expected it to go down like this. One minute she was crossing the road and the next some joker in a car fell asleep at the wheel. He hit a lorry that swerved and hit another vehicle, and the pile up that resulted ended up in an avalanche of debris all in her path. I mean, nobody saw that coming" well, certainly not the angel Guarding that clutz of a human driving. And whilst they tried to sort out their mess, they missed my actions. I know, I know, my heart was racing when I saw her goo down. I was just thinking one thing; SAVE HER! I'm sorry. I knew I shouldn't, I should have listened. I knew there'd be Hell to pay cos someone is always watching. Poking their nose in when it's least wanted. But I just reacted. Sue me!

I saw her fall to the floor. The hard concrete floor, and before I knew it I was there. She was unconscious so she never saw In my defense neither did anyone else. But I knew the Rules. I knew if I helped in this I risked our unwarranted involvement because apparently this was her destiny. Well I'm sorry. Screw that. I dived beside her, my arms at her waist, leaned over and spread my wings. Just to protect her. And boy did it hurt. A ton of debris, metal and stone and glass hurled itself at me at a hundred miles an hour. I mean, don't think we're impervious to pain. We hurt as much as you, but we're stronger and our wings are tough. Like titanium tough. It was an angel wrote that song and when they say "I am titanium!" they really meant it!

So I saved her. I shouldn't have but she was kind, and good and wholesome. I'd been touched by the way she did stuff for others and how she truly wanted to make a difference. And when they dragged me in front of the tribunal after my recovery they told me they'd taken me off her case. She was no longer my responsibility, not in my care. I was relieved of her duty. In truth, my heart fell. And I knew they'd chuck the book at me, they always do in these scenarios. They read me the riot act. I kinda thought at one point the big guy himself was gonna show up. And when they asked me over and over, in the interrogation that ensued WHY? Why did you interfere with the plan? Why did you deviate from script? Why do you care? Over and over day after day...why..my answer just spilled out of me.."I love her".

SHOCK. Silence. As much for mc as for them. A revelation, and I can't say they were too happy about it. And they dragged me off in chains, bloody and bruised still. And I'm lying in this cell thinking their punishment for this will be brutal. Swift and merciless. And I lay there in the dark, my wings all crumpled and broken, pain overwhelming....and yet, I'd do it all again. I would. I'd save her again and why? Because she deserved it. She was worth it. It just felt right. And then from the dark I heard His voice:

"My son, you've found your soul after all this time. You're my first! Congratulations."

And though I was wrapped in a black cloak of darkness and pain I heard His voice and smiled. Thank God I'd listened to my inner self, my voice, His calling through me. I'm gonna be alright I thought, and then passed out.

The end.

1
$ 3.95
$ 3.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Les_ley
2 years ago

Comments