Sleep

6 12
Avatar for Leo_kitti
3 years ago

The forest was dark. Too dark. Even the light of the moon couldn't penetrate through the tree tops but my eyes were adjusted to the darkness. With my baby girl in my arms I made my way downwards, towards the sound of the creek. They were coming. I could tell by the howls and screams. People were being killed in the most horrible way - being torn limb from limb while screaming. They enjoyed the screams, they didn't kill immediately. And 'they' weren't humans. They poured out from across the world, spreading like a plague, no body could stop them. Not fast anyway. The would was ending.

Climbing down the steep path was agonizing, the blisters on my bare feet shot pain up my body with each contact it made with the ground but I couldn't stop now. Running down, I sang a soothing lullaby to my daughter who wouldn't stop crying. I sat down at the edge of the creek and put my daughter on my laps, stroking and rocking her as I sang, my eyes fixed towards the forest. I rocked her gently, my voice blending into the flow of the creek. Her wailing reduced to sobs then slowly she quieted. I heard them now, raging and bowling, drawing closer. My baby slept peacefully in my arms, I reached to stroke her chin and held her jaw. A tear fell from my eyes, I jerked my hands forcefully and her neck snapped with a dry sound. She slept.

I saw them now, I smiled weakly. They can tear me open but at least my baby is safe.

Come get sponsored!!! Lol yep😋. Just tap on the link to join the community and get into what's going on!

https://read.cash/c/get-sponsored-2a0b

Courtesy of our generous admin @Ashma ❤️

4
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Leo_kitti
empty
empty
empty

Comments