Scorched 2

6 29
Avatar for Leo_kitti
3 years ago

Mariam sat in front of the open window, staring out into nothingness. She had received the news of her engagement to the sheik's son and she took it well - at least that was what her father saw so yes she took it very well. She couldn't refuse anyway, not like she had a say in matters concerning her own future. She sighed. A lone tear fell from her eye, she didn't bother to wipe it, right now all she wanted to do was to cry, the only person who could cure her aching heart had been gruesomely killed in her presence. Father had ordered the beheading after finding out of their secret love affair.

Yes, she had been in love with a "mere man" as father had put it, incapable of acquiring the finer things in life to be able to keep her in comfort, but she found true comfort in his heart and she rested her head on the soft pillows of his love, until she had cause him to be killed. She would forever blame herself.

Omar, she knew of the man but had never seen him, rumors say he was as handsome as the setting sun over the pools of Al Lith, graceful and diversely educated. His age she didn't know but she would be turning twenty in six days and her engagement would be two days after. She thought of Aadil, her lover and wept, vowing never to love Omar. She now hated him.


Omar returned home reluctantly with Megan in his father's custody, but then he had no clue as to where she was being kept. He had agreed to marry Mariam in exchange for her safety and now he wasn't sure he could blindly trust his father. In eight days he would be getting engaged to his father's choice so he had less than eight days to come up with a counter plan. He had to get himself and Megan out, but then home wasn't like the desert that was open and less secured, home was crawling with guards, men on every post.

He resigned to sleep this night, to gather strength and plan for both their escape but when his body touched the soft, rich foam, sleep left him. Wondering if Megan was also on a soft rich bed or on a cold dungeon floor, he sprung up and rushed out of the room, he had to find his father and know about the welfare of Megan.


"...ahh yes, plan it accordingly. The girl would be twenty and very ripe for marriage..... yes, he is also on track.....hahaha, he's my son afterall.....we will come to you tomorrow....peace be with you too." The sheik flipped the phone down on the bed and stretched, tomorrow they would be going to see his son's soon to be father-in-law.

He smiled and walked over to the portrait of Aabish, his late wife and Omar's mother, who looked splendid in the colourful cloth which adorned her as befiting the fifth daughter of the Sa'd.

"It's all coming together..."

"Father," Omar entered into his father's chambers in a rush, "father, I have agreed to marry the woman you chose on the condition of Megan's safety..."

"And I assure you that she is safe."

"Then you wouldn't mind me confirming that."

Khalid glanced at his son and tilted his head, "you have lost your trust for your father? I never thought I'd see the day." He turned away from him and sat at the edge of the over sized bed.

"I want to know that she is being properly taken care of and not that she is safely kept away in a dungeon." Omar was firm. He would have to confirm it himself.

The sheik sighed. "She is in the last room on this floor, I forbid you to do anything more than to confirm. You may leave."

Immediately, hope riled in his heart and he turned out of the room to find her.


The bed was big and the room bigger, dinner was served to her which she had left untouched in the middle of the table for fear of poisoning but her grumbling stomach and the rich aroma of the food was just about enough temptation. Giving up on her resolve, she sat down to eat but the door was suddenly thrown open and Omar walked in, rushing to grab her in his arms. She melted into his hug and began to weep.

"Hush now, I'm here."

"For how long? You're going to marry her! What am I to do?"

"I need you to trust me, do you?"

"Omar," she looked into his eyes, darting from one eye ball to the other and then back, "I love you, I trust you, but this... It's not something I'm used to, not something I want to get used to."

"Me neither." He pulled her closer and whispered, "we are set to be engaged in eight days. Give me eight days Meg, I will liberate you from this."

She hugged him tighter, never wanting to let go. They ate together before he left and Megan went to sleep with the hope of an escape. She prayed for Omar, she prayed for herself and she prayed that the sheik would have a heart attack.


Ok, so I'm beginning to like the story though I have absolutely no idea how it's going to play out in the end. Haha, but I'm thinking I have to come up with a different title now.... Help me??

@Ozzyy @Hanzell


https://read.cash/@Leo_kitti/scorched-1-b70f43e8

4
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Leo_kitti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Leo_kitti
3 years ago

Comments

I have no idea on how to put title on things, it's also a regular struggle for me 😂😂😂 but the plot is thickening >w< and it's amazing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha thank you❤️❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Leo this is amazing ❤❤❤

Though I'm not good at naming others' works, try incorporating 'dunes, sands, desert, affair,@ or that stuff into the title.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think I come up with a good enough title

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah, great then. What's it >w<

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😁😁😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago