Resolutions 101

4 26
Avatar for Leo_kitti
3 years ago

This week has so not been how I planned and hoped it would be...

So let's skip @TheRandomRewarder delaying tips and the fact that for days now we haven't had electricity, which is really killing me, like that has just soaked right into my bones and had somehow made me weak. I haven't been able to play my favorite game - Candy Crush - for days now because my phone's battery is always often in the red zone. The generator comes on at night and stays for two hours and my phone takes three hours to fully charge, so imagine me managing or trying to manage the battery to last throughout the day till when next I'll be able to charge.

But then onto the main issue... Friends.

There are some or that one friend you'll have in your life as a best friend and then both of you and everyone around you thinks oh this Union is "made in heaven". No no, you guys aren't dating,

(lol, you can't even, as you're same gender, but then whatever)

So, you guys are the perfect match and you know almost everything about each other and your family knows each other, you know, things like that... And then as things are going all rosy, one thing could just ruin it. One sided friendship is something that could be damaging. I know this because I had experienced it first hand, and please be careful with whose advice you follow, sometimes those same people don't follow their own advice.

So this friend of mine had issues with me because I stopped coming to her house. No, wait, it was during the covid pandemic and we were experiencing lockdown for about six months and in those six months, I didn't go to her house. And one day she called me and asked why I haven't come to see her since she came back from school... Now, she came back from school first week in March and she didn't tell me she was back, I learnt from her sister that she was back, I still didn't go and see her for a week hoping that she would maybe call and say "hey, I'm back." She didn't. Then I went to see her and everything seemed alright. Mid March was when the lockdown was put in place.

So when she called me that I haven't come to see her, somewhere in the back of my mind I wanted to ask her, "can't you come to my house? I mean the distance is the same." And she had only come to my house twice! And I on the other hand had become like a regular visitor at her place so she saw it as normal for me to do all the visiting.... And I saw it as normal too because I didn't take anything to it, not until that call. If I can't come see you, what's stopping you from coming to see me??

I place a huge, tremendous value on friendships. Deep meaning, deep rooted friendships so I try my absolute best to make sure that you know that I'm always there for you and I need to know that you're there for me as well. I don't call so often, I'm a texter, I could chat you up all day long and the gist would just be flowing naturally, I love to text but if I haven't heard from you in a while, I'll call.

One time I was in a relationship and obviously she had to know about it, she wasn't at that time and then she became "relationship advisor" - being in a relationship will distract you from school, what does he have to offer, what do you have to offer, he looks like a player - lol, I didn't take it seriously but then he did, he was her brother and maybe that was my mistake right? Dating my best friend's brother but it worked out with other people, it could work out with us, but it didn't. When he broke up with the excuse that he was "distracting me" I kinda knew who would have advise him. I just let the matter die, I felt her friendship was more important.

And then she got into a relationship! And my goodness lord, she changed! There was something she posted on her WhatsApp status about how being in a relationship doesn't distract you from school unless you want to be distracted. I was wowed by that post.

It kinda hurts when something so....dare I say beautiful, breaks apart and you guys just turn from besties to total strangers. She said I cut off from her first since I stopped coming to her house and I'm not even going to defend myself, sometimes you have to let some people go if they want to go. Maybe I did wrong, maybe I wasn't that "perfect" friend but right now, whatever! Lol. I've got my girlfriend, I've got my bondiee and I'll be damned if I let such happen again.

So as the year ends, set yourself free from some things who wants to be set free and who needs to be set free, you should know what you need and what you don't. No excess baggage into the new year. And excess baggage includes unwanted friends, memories, relationships, problems, thoughts, patterns....and all that. Let's be free and let's welcome those things that are worth it.

Merry Christmas to @Read.Cash

5
$ 0.17
$ 0.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @sanctuary.the-one-law
Sponsors of Leo_kitti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Leo_kitti
3 years ago

Comments

Even I, haven't received a tip for over 1 month now, Wrote a mail to hello@read.cash but no response still.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow.... This is something else. But you comment isn't marked as spam .. Maybe you should try writing again

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A bit too early to abe making resolutions but hey, whoever needs to be cut off from life, just do it. They won't even realize why they were cut off anyways nor will they come to understand

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha. That's also true. Let those who value you remain with you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago