Closed case

12 32
Avatar for Leo_kitti
3 years ago

They said she was the best in her field, the badass woman who gets the dirty works done and cleaned up faster than Sherlock Holmes could solve a kindergarten missing toy mystery. And that was why she had practically been summoned from her high office in New York to the sub-urbs of Rolfdale to solve the psychiatric case. She felt highly insulted to be called for such belittling case and somehow praised too, no one in the police force of Rolfdale could solve the mystery. They had to call her. They needed her help.

Alighting from her white Hyundai which came to a halt in front of St. Luke's care home, she took a long look at the gigantic work of engineering art and sighed esperatedly before walking into the premises, her chic leather trousers and matching coat spoke of her arrival to the area, it stood out sharply amongst the simple clothes the town folks wore. It worked well for her, she didn't want to be recognized as "one of them."

The crime scene was repulsive, blood was smeared on the walls and across the floor, the body had long been taken for an autopsy but the white chalk drawing on the floor showed where and in that position the body had been. Asides from the body, nothing else in the room had been moved. Sienna stood at the door post, taking in all the details her eyes could at the moment, she had gotten used to the acrid smell that emanated from such crime scenes.

"You must be Miss Mitchell," she turned to see a doctor behind her offering her his best doctor smile, "I'm doctor Frank Carter." He offered his hand.

"Sienna Mitchell, from the New York police crime division squard." She held his hand firmly as they exchanged pleasantries.

She had done her homework about the case before hand, so what doctor Frank told her now was already something she new or his own perspective of the matter, further affirming her suspicions. He wasn't sure and the police had no strong lead, it was up to her to investigate how the accident had really happened.

Timothy Quinn, a patient in the care home had been found gruesomely murdered in his ward one morning with a silver spoon shoved deep into his mouth with a half eaten sandwich in his hands. The door had been closed but left unlocked and the windows thrown open - the culprit had escaped from the windows and manueverred his way down, two stories above the ground. He was athletic.

One thing baffled the police and herself; what was the motive?

"I was told there was no CCTV coverage?" She inquired.

"Not in these halls, we haven't replaced them."

The culprit also knew that, strengthening her theory that this mystery person was no lunatic being treated here. She nodded.

"Any suspects?"

"We have a few.."

"Patients?"

"Yes. Naturally they would be. Bob for one, has a tendency of having violent fits and beating someone to a pulp. He was our very first suspect."

"Hmmm...I'd like to meet Bob, doctor Frank."

*

Bob was calm and he smiled at Sienna, his huge bulk hardly fit comfortably into the tiny metal chair and it looked like he was being squished between that and the matching table, but still he smiled, the kind of creepy smiled that would set you on edge, the kind of creepy smile that made you want to be close to the exit and your hands ready on any available and effective weapon. But Sienna was calm, she had handled situations like this numerous times so she smiled back at Bob and asked the doctor to leave them alone. He reluctantly did.

"Hello Bob."

"Sienna... You remembered me. How long has it been? Years? And the only way to get your attention was for a murder to happen."

She folded her hands across her chest and leaned back. Noah Hamilton, nicknamed Bob, was one of the mentally unstable murderers she had "discovered". Bob here had killed two school children with brute force because they didn't give him candy when he had "...asked so nicely..." as he had said in court. He said he didn't mean to, he just got angry and forgot that he held a metal baseball bat in his hands. He had swung twice, strong enough to crack open one skull and maim the other but then they both died.

"I was hoping you'd forget me totally Noah..."

"Don't call me that!" He pounded his fist on the table, creating a small dent. Sienna couldn't help but flinch a little.

"Still with the anger issues I see." She stood this time to stand behind the chair. "How do you feel.... Bob?"

"Scared sometimes, you know..." He began to sob now which kinda surprised Sienna, this isn't want she had expected, they had played it safe to include him as a suspect but she had her doubts.

"I don't want to stay..." He continued. "I'm sorry, I'm sorry. Help me out Sienna."

"Ohh stop with all the broken heart bullshit. You killed children! And probably killed Timothy too, isn't it?!"

"I loved Tim actually, the boy was a bit overbearing most of the time and ugh...! I imagined smashing his head in but I couldn't, I liked the boy you know. Like a son." He flashed her a pity smile, she scoffed.

"Yea? And what was your reason for killing your so called son this time."

He stood from the chair and climbed the table to sit, folding his legs and rocking himself. "I didn't kill Tim. I can tell you who... I know.." Sienna stepped closer now but still maintained an arm's length distance.

"I want to talk to my daughter, I'll ask her to just get me out of here. It's so boring already, I want to hear her call me dad once more."

"You think it's that easy!" She yelled now. "You cracked open the head of your grand children because they didn't offer you candy! Because you couldn't control your anger! Because you're sick! So you will tell me what I bloody need to know so I can be away from you!"

Bob paused, he hated tears and they were already threatening to drop from her eyes, he didn't want to hurt her. He frowned, got down from the table and stood facing her.

"Sienna? I really want to talk to my daughter."

She paused at the door and without turning back she said, "you know you don't have a daughter."

"Sienna..."

"Noah Hamilton! You know very well that your daughter died that day as well. We do not share the same surname anymore! I'm Sienna Mitchell. And I really hope never to see you again!" She stormed out of the room, this case was already closed.

4
$ 2.07
$ 2.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Leo_kitti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Leo_kitti
3 years ago

Comments

👌👌👌👌👌👌✍️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

❤️❤️❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That was too short again OnO although everything was there but why does it feel so short ;;-;;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol. I felt so somehow too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe you weren't satisfied with the idea here?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was supposed to be her solving a murder case and this ending.... Guess I didn't focus much on the solving

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ueah, it seemed more like an emotional conflict for her than a murder case once bob was introduced

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I honestly don't know how to react on this 😳😳 The revelations were perfectly placed and I did not expect them 😳

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha. That's how I love to keep my readers... In awe 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And you really succeeded 😳😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha 😂😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago