Growing olds

0 34
Avatar for Lejay28
3 years ago
Topics: Story, Inspiration

-Lejay28


Change is inevitable. Of course, this is undeniable. Even the Greek wise men of old had seriously thought and written voluminous works on the existence of change. But never Parmenides and his static monism.

"Tiguwang naka! di gihapon ka kahibaw?! Unsa diay imo nahibaw-an?!"

As my mother would always yell at me every time I was unable to completely actualize her instructions or tasks. She would love to yell all day just to remind me that I was old when I was still at 12 years of age.

At that time, I earnestly thought that old life begins at 12. I was constantly her assistant in doing manifold household chores, grocery shopping, paying monthly bills, etc.

This perseverated until now. I never knew life outside of being an assistant to my mother and father, except when I deliberately do things on my own in exchange for undesirable yet informative consequences.

I came to the point of doing the extremes, especially those which outrightly scandalize and violate the morals of my parents. All they had for me back then were straight punches, painful slaps, and mobile armies of hateful words all day.

"Naunsa man ka? Ka-bata pa nimo para mag-ing ana ka! Unsa naman lang gamit sa imong na-eskwelahan kon ing-ana ra imo buhaton?"

Instantly, the clear waters became strange tides when they yelled at me at the age of 28. As far as I know, I was then reminded of being old when I was still 12. And for sure, the numbers 12 and 28 have a huge difference, which is too obvious to point out.

Certainly, I don't have a curious case as though Benjamin Button's, for my age and features are not magically regressing. Nor I can be contrarily old and young at the same time.

But the glaring truth in this parcel is that growing old will never be definite despite the evident changes. Parents will be the sole determiner of how old and/or young you are aside from valid documents and PSA.

Thank you and Godbless😁

0
$ 0.31
$ 0.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Lejay28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Lejay28
3 years ago
Topics: Story, Inspiration

Comments