A Medal Does Not Define You

18 547
Avatar for Lejay28
2 years ago

June 30,2021

My lead image

Commencement or moving up celebration is fast approaching.  It is always  rewarding to know that all of our hard work as students have finally paid up. But nothing is more rewarding than making our parents proud during commencement or graduations. Right? 

I have seen a lot of parents of my batch cheerfully walk down the stage as their sons and daughters were called up for an award and medals their faces shown as if it were gold. Yes but no doubt, they deserve it all. I know there are students also that dream to have that honor for all their efforts.

As I looked unto them, my parents held my hands and I looked up in awe at how their faces shone just like the parents I saw on the stage going back and forth for their child's awards. Me, as an average student, I also got an award but not the same as the others but I have always been grateful for these days in my youth. I am proud and happy that I never had the pressure of doing things that are beyond my strength and capability and yet being appreciated still by my family.

As I went to elementary and high school I encountered different kinds of students like me. There were fast learners, average like me and those who needed more tutoring to do but I did not take nor can say. I reflected on that kind of situation until I went to college. In college I have found a lot of friends online, in our bunch we have different learning phases in which we also see if we can help each other out. Especially this one friend of mine who is really pushing herself on the edge just because of the thought that all of her elder siblings are Magna Cum laude. I can say that she was indeed a good person but as the semester and years went by we noticed that she changed. She is much of a worrier and hot headed person. I talked to her and she told me that she was just very desperate to be appreciated by her parents to the point where she took some medications to prevent her from sleeping so she can study all night.

I saw this scenario and realized that offspring or students like us would really do anything to make our parents proud, even if this will no longer be healthy on our part. Some parents might say that pressuring their child is their way of encouraging them and making them thrive for the best results, but in the end it's just us students handling these cases alone at school and seeing how it goes for my friend. I don't think that's the best result a parent would want.

This scenario and experience made me appreciate the supportive family I have and If I will have a family of my own in the future, I will surely do the same when they go to school. I will give no pressure on their shoulders after all, grades are just grades and medals are just medals which are the upfront of our resumes but not our identity as a person.

I believe that in the real world, you can't barter grades or medals for happiness, good judgments and good character. The world needs rational and well-mannered citizens, not just merely brains. When we die. people are going to forget about our grades and medals but never the good things we've done for them.

By-Lejay28


5
$ 1.74
$ 1.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @FerferClear
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 1
Sponsors of Lejay28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Lejay28
2 years ago

Comments

More than 15 years ago, you can never find a custom writing service company online. Basically, this is really something that the technology has not utilized yet as a service because the internet was still not available back then. But today, your generation is quite lucky for you can purchase research papers at the click of a mouse. A writemypaper4me can be considered the core project that will give you the bulk of your grade in a particular subject. Usually, this is considered the holy grail of projects for it requires great effort and time management in order to come up with a good research paper.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To write a good government essay, it is important to identify a topic and stick to it. Make sure you choose a topic that is both narrow and wide enough to cover in the required number of pages. You can use the comparison method to show your of two topics.Visit https://essaywritinghelp.pro/thesis-writing-service/ for more info. A brief review of both subjects will show your professor that you know both topics very well. You should not forget to present the ideas that support your points. If you are unsure about what to write, you can use a comparison.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just enjoy the process. Kasi sa sobrang bilis ng takbo ng oras. Minsan nag fo-focus nalang tayo sa gusto nating abutin just to please other people. Especially our parents expectations. Pero kung alam ko kung paano i-enjoy at i pursue ang bagay na gusto mong abutin. Failure man yan o success, it will be worth it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga po. Kahit nga ako yung talaga yung kinakatakotan ko yung hindi ko makuha yung expectation ng family ko, kasi ako ayoko talagang mag disappoint ng tao kay ginagawa ko talaga best ko palagi. Lalo na kung kasama dyan yung pamilya. But ngayon kasi alam ko nang ang supportuve ng mga mga gulang ko kaya okay na ako ngayon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

11mos user kna pla? D kb active before? Ngayon lng kita napansin 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes po, I stopped before po almost 7 months. Tapos kakabalik ko lang last May

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kya pla..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Inisip ko kasing di ko kaya pag sabayin yung pag aaral ko at ito at tinamad. Sinayang ko yung time na yun Hehe mali ako dun. Dapat pala kahit 3-4 artciles lang per week. Okay na sana.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have same perspective. A medal doesn't define us. There are times na yung mga walang nakukuhang medals sa schooldays, pag dating sa real world or after grad, nakakamit naman nila yung success in their own way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yess poo hehe madami din akong kakilala na despite sa performance nila sa skul noon nag aaral pa sila, naging successful pa din sila sa buhay. At yun ay dahil madiskarte at matalino sila, sabihin man natin na hindi sila yung matalino na tinutukoy sa skwelahan . Sila yung mga matatalino at madiskarte sa buhay. At actually yun talaga ang importante .

And as long as meron sumusuporta sayo di dapat mawalan ng pag asa sa buhay . Hindi talaga natin alam ang magiging future natin ng dahil lang sa buhay natin ngayon , yung iba nag my changes pa talaga but yung iba din na they manage their self ng mabuti nagiging successful talaga sa huli.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo. Street smart sila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Somehow u r right in it po but for me, the medal's the proof that my nephews n niece strive hard just to have it po n that shows how smart they r po tlga n i'm so proud of them po tlga n my hardwork n help po sa kanila before ay hindi po nauwi sa wala dhil lhat po cla eh nsa honors n my mga medals po :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yess, po kung kaya naman natin dba, why not? Hehe me also, though I am an average student, I am also a school representative ng contest sa ibang school and honor din po. But for some other people po na iba yung abilities, it is an encouragement for them na magpatuloy sa pag aaral kahit ganon sila, and they need a supportive family talaga.

I have many friends po na hindi naman sila awardee but I know na mas marunong pa sila sa akin, its just that na di nila gusto maging active sa skul. And natatamad lang sila. At yung iba is kulang lang talaga ng support from family.

But sabi mo nga po, importante din ang medal kasi yun yung reqard mo na matatanggap mo sa lahat ng effort mo sa schooll. And agree po talaga ako dyan because I always wish for it kasi always ako nag iefffort sa skul hehehe..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo, lol, mtalino po kc ang nanay n tatay po nla though ngbulakbol nga lng po ung kuya q dati eh, lol, opo, achievements po kc ung mga awards n medals n nkakatuwa po tlga na ung pinaghirapan o mga bngay po sa kanila eh ndi po nsayang hanggang ngaun po

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes yes po. Dami din yan dito hehe kasi yung mga ate ko ang gagaling kasi sa school kaya may expectation talaga sa sakin. But honestly I hate it po hehe gusto ko wala talagang expectation sakin kasi I don't want to disappoint anyone everytime nafail ako sa isang bagay ,like contest or kahit anu. Kaya yun ginagawa ko talaga is nag sumikap para di sila ma disappoint hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo, mhrap nga po yan eh, pressure po sa inyo, lol, pro ang mhalaga po eh mkgraduate n mkpsa po u sa board exam po pra po mtupad ung pangarap u po

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes po💯 how i wish poo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo

$ 0.00
2 years ago