Victory lies on the other side of each challenge

0 13
Avatar for Legends
2 years ago
Topics: Free writing

Image source: https://www.pexels.com/search/success/

I have heard it report that some people spend upwards of 92 percent of their time worrying for no good reason. You can't get through life without experiencing some type of hazard,but worrying about what lies ahead is foolish. Although there are going to be problems,remember,your victory is on the other side.

I was cruising along,a few years back,filled with purpose,passion, and positive attitude. Then I got blind-sided. I noticed strange swellings in both lower legs. I was supposed to catch a flight to Look s Angeles to speak to employees of the Mattel co operation,but I decided to make a quick trip to the doctor's office first. When the doctor examined my legs,he calmly offered his diagnosis:blood cloths in both legs.

Initially I looked at this minor challenge. I asked the doctor to write a prescription because I had a plane to catch. That was when he told me that it was far more serious problem than I'd realized."if you move too quickly,and one of those blood clots releases and goes up to your heart, you won't have to worry about your flight,your speaking engagement,or anything else,"he said.

My attitude adjusted immediately. I called my contacts at Mattel and told them that we would have to.reschedule. I then went straight from the doctor's office to the hospital,where I stayed on my back for two weeks to prevent the clots from moving into the artery. There were plenty of opportunities to let my attitude slide into self pity and frustration,but I chose to be thankful that I'd gone to a doctor who identified the problem.

Sooner or later,we all get hit with challenges that set off the attitude hazard alarms. A loved one becomes ill or gets injured, a shift in technology threatens your work,a sudden change in the weather turns a routine trip into a test of survival. Stuffs happen! You can't spend your life hiding behind your fears, worries,or self doubt.

So what do you do? How do you prepare yourself to deal with things that you can't control? By focusing on those things that you can control,and by being determined to get a positive result out of even the most negative experience. Whenever you undertake a new endeavor,it's important to know the rules of the game. Whenever it's a new job,a new relationship,or a new challenge,there is a process you must go through in order to learn the rules. As this learning process unfolds,we encounter problems and complexities that can easily give rise to additional attitude hazards including:

  • Self doubt; I don't know if I can really do it,it is more complicated than I thought

  • Frustration; why isn't this working? What am I doing wrong?

  • Fear of failure; If I don't figure this out,I am in trouble. They will kick me off the team.

  • Anxiety; this is my one chance and i am blowing it.

  • Anger; leave me alone,you are stupid!

  • Victimization; why me? Nobody cares what happens to me. Why am I singled out?

  • Blame;it's all your fault.

RESPONSE VERSUS REACTION

It's amazing how quickly a positive attitude can be shut down by a few bad experience and negative thoughts, isn't it? That is why it's so important to monitor your attitude and respond rather than react.

When you respond,you make a positive and constructive mental adjustment. When you react,it's purely emotional and rarely does anything to improve the situation;often it makes it worse. Tht is why we have emergency response teams not emergency reaction teams. If your doctor has prescribed a medication and told you to come back in two weeks, wouldn't you rather hear him say that your body is responding to treatment rather than reacting to it? Still not clear on this distinction? Let's say you have just received word that you are going to be downsized in six weeks.

When you simply react,you go with your gut emotional instinct,with little thought of the long range consequences. When you respond,your brain is fully engaged and your self awareness is high. You have the long term big picture in mind.

Negative thoughts are gonna creep into your mind. The key is to be prepared with a game plan thy responds offensively and defensively rather than one that merely reacts. Choosing to respond instead of reacting helps you stay in control of your attitude and life.

Remember,hazards come in all shapes amd sizes,designed to set u back,knock you down,or destroy you. In life there are going to be challenges. Stay positive,have a solid plan take action,and you will be equipped to face all of life's challenges. Keep your faith!

"Fear cannot scare a person who is at peace with God. There is no room, opportunity,or place of fear on such a person. Remember you must have faith"

Thanks for reading!

1
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Legends
2 years ago
Topics: Free writing

Comments